Joint Statements on Racism
Dear UD Students and Faculty:
The love of truth and justice must be more than a motto.
As leaders of the University of Dallas we, Bishop Edward Burns, Chancellor, Richard Husseini, Board of Trustees Chair, and Dr. Thomas Hibbs, President, wish to ensure that our words align with the spirit that animates our communal endeavors.
Let us be clear: racism is a sin against God, who created all in His image, and against our shared humanity. The authoritative teaching on this subject is consistent -- our understanding of the relationship between God and his creation is found in the very heart of the Gospel. It is reaffirmed in the Catechism of the Catholic Church and finds expression in the proclamations of Saint Pope John Paul II, Pope Benedict XVI, and Pope Francis. We stand in solidarity with the teachings of our shared faith.
Sincerely,
Most Reverend Edward J. Burns, Bishop of Dallas, Chancellor, University of Dallas
Richard Husseini, BS '88, Board Chair, University of Dallas
Thomas S. Hibbs, Ph.D., BA '82 MA '83, President, University of Dallas
--- January 5, 2021
- APALA Statement Against Anti-Asian ViolenceStatement by the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association.
- Diversity & Dignity - University of DallasThe University of Dallas is committed to protecting the dignity of every human person.
- MLA Latinx Caucus Official StatemnetOfficial statement against acts of violence and hate by the Latinx Caucus of the Medical Library Association.
- TLA Condemns Racism and ViolenceOfficial statement condemning racism and violence by the Texas Library Association.
Race, Racism, Antiracism & Social Justice Selected Titles
So You Want to Talk About Race
E 184 .A1 O454 2019
Compendium of the Social Doctrine of the Church: Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace
Online Access - Library of Catholic Thought
How to Be An Antiracist
E 184 .A1 K344 2019
Racial Justice and the Catholic Church
BX 1795 .R33 M37 2010
That They May Be One: Catholic Social Teaching on Racism, Tribalism, and Xenophobia
BX 1795 .R33 N68 2008
Stamped From the Beginning
E185.61 .K358 2017
White Fragility
HT 1521 .D486 2018
Turning to the World: Social Justice and the Common Good Since Vatican II
BX 830 1962 .T87 2018
Visible Identities: Race, Gender, and the Self
HM 753 .A39 2006
Citizen: An American Lyric
PS 3568 .A572 A6 2014
Augustine and Social Justice
BR 65 .A9 A8445 2015
Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
REF E 184 .A1 R254
Bind us Apart: How Enlightened Americans Invented Racial Segregation
REF E 184 .A1 R254
The Sin of White Supremacy: Christianity, Racism, and Religious Diversity in America
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Racism Without Racists: Color-Blind Racism and the Persistence of Racial Inequality in America
E 184 .A1 B597 2018
The House That Race Built
E 185.615 .H68 1997
Faith and Social Justice in the Teaching of Pope John Paul II
BX 1753 .B385 1997
Critique of Black Reason
HT 1581 .M3313 2017
Antisemitism: A Historical Encyclopedia of Prejudice and Persecution
REF DS 146 .E8 A58 2005
Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents
HT 725 .U6 W55 2020
Black Rights/White Wrongs: The Critique of Racial Liberalism
JC 574 .M538 2017
The Idea of Race
GN 269 .I34 2000
Kant and the Concept of Race
HT 1506 .K36 2013
From Enemy to Brother
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
From Boas to Black Power: Racism, Liberalism, and American Anthropology
GN 308.3 U6 A49 2019
Race, Racism, and Science: Social Impact and Interaction
HT 1521 .J33 2004
Under Representation: The Racial Regime of Aesthetics
BH 301 .P64 L56 2019
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice
Online Access - Credo Reference
Revealing Whiteness: The Unconscious Habits of Racial Privilege
HT 1575 .S85 2006
On Race: 34 Conversations in a Time of Crisis
HT1521 .Y363 2017
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Online Access - Credo Reference
What White Looks Like: African-American Philosophers on the Whiteness Question
E 185.615 .W438 2004
Race After Technology
HN 90 .I56 B46 2019
Birthright Citizens
KF 4757 .J655 2018
Blue-Chip Black: Race, Class, and Status in the New Black Middle Class
E 185.86 .L325 2007
1919, The Year of Racial Violence
E 185.5 .K78 2014
The Burning: The Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921
F 704 .T92 M33 2001
The Cross and the Lynching Tree
BR 563 .N4 C648 2013
The Racial Contract
HT 1523 .M56 1997
Critique of Black Reason
HT 1581 .M3313 2017
Black Resistance, White Law: A History of Constitutional Racism in America
E185.61 .B45 1995
Race and Racism in Continental Philosophy:
HT 1523 .R2514 2003
Enfleshing Freedom: Body, Race, and Being
BT 702 .C67 2010
America in Black and White: One Nation, Indivisible
E 185.61 .T45 1997
Notes of a Native Son
E 185.61 .B18 N6 1984
Holocaust: The Nazi Persecution and Murder of the Jews
DS 134.255 .L66413 2012
Conditional Citizens: On Belonging in America
JK 1759 .L223 2020
In the Matter of Color
KF 4757 .H53 1980
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America
E 185.61 .R8185 2018
White Identity Politics
JK 1764 .J37 2019
Devil in the Grove
KF 224 .G76 K56 2012
The Temple Bombing
F 294 .A89 J536 2006
Black Power: The Politics of Liberation in America
E 185.615 .C32 1992
Writing to Save a Life
D 810 .N4 W49 2016
The Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Race
H 61.15 .R68 2018
Reimagining Equality
E 185.86 .H655 2011
The Future of Whiteness
E 184 .A1 A46 2015
Critical Race Theory
KF 4755 .D454 2017
Seeing Through Race
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Race
HT 1521 .R233 2001
What Fanon Said
CT 2628 .F35 G67 2015
White
HT 1575 .D93 2017
The Religion of White Rage
E 184 .A1 R45 2020
Racecraft
E 184 .A1 F54 2014
Whitewashing Race: The Myth of a Color-Blind Society
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy
REF BX 1753 .E595 2007
Racist America: Roots, Current Realities, and Future Reparations
E 185.615 .F387 2000
Creating Equal: My Fight Against Race Preferences
E 185.97 .C74 2000
Freud, Race, and Gender
BF 109 .F74 G554 1993
Preaching the Teaching: Hispanics, Homiletics, and Catholic Social Justice Doctrine
BX 1795 .P72 P74 2005
Black-Brown Relations and Stereotypes
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
A Terrible Thing to Waste
GE 230 .W37 2019
Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence
HM 1019 .S84 2015
Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work for Racial Justice
E 184 .A1 K477 2017
The Bible and Social Justice: Old Testament and New Testament Foundations for the Church's Urgent Call
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Charity in Truth: Caritas in Veritate
BX 1753 .C38 2009
The Color of Money: Black Banks and the Racial Wealth Gap
E 185.8 .B37 2019
Algorithms of Oppression: How Search Engines Reinforce Racism
ZA 4230 .A446 2018
Understanding and Dismantling Racism
E 184 .A1 B249 2007
A Black Theology of Liberation
BT 78 .C59 1970
Enfleshing Freedom: Body, Race, and Being
BT 702 .C67 2010
White Rage
E 185.61 .A5438 2017
Trailblazer: A Pioneering Journalist's Fight to Make the Media Look More Like America
PN 4874 .G387 A3 2019
Slavery by Another Name: The Re-enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II
E 185.2 .B545 2009
Be the Bridge: Pursuing God's Heart for Racial Reconciliation
BT 734.2 .M67 2019
Black Is a Country: Race and the Unfinished Struggle for Demoracy
E 185.61 .S6144 2004
Lazarus at the Table: Catholics and Social Justice
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
César Chávez, the Catholic Bishops, and the Farmworkers' Struggle for Social Justice
HD 6509 .C48 P76 2006
Captivating Technology
HV 9471 .C2825 2019
Caring for Equality: A History of African American Health and Healthcare
RA 448.5 .N4 M33 2018
Cross-Racial Class Protest in Antebellum American Literature
PS 217.W66 H37 2020
The Beautiful Struggle: A Memoir
F 189 .B153 C63 2009
Breaking White Supremacy: Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Black Social Gospel
E 185.615 .D677 2018
White Supremacy and Racism in the Post-Civil Rights Era
E 184 .A1 B598 2001
America's Unholy Ghosts: The Racist Roots of Our Faith and Politics
E 185.61 .G693 2019
A Shot in the Moonlight: How a Freed Slave and a Confederate Soldier Fought for Justice in the Jim Crow South
F 456 .M66 2021
Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America
E 185.615 .D947 2020
Yellow
E 184 .O6 W84 2003
Ignored Racism: White Animus Toward Latinos
E 184 .S75 R34 2020
Inventing Latinos: A New Story of American Racism
E 184 .S75 G63 2020
Killing Rage: Ending Racism
E 185.615 .H645 1996
Jesus and the Disinherited
BS 2417 .S7 T5 1996
Black Fatigue
RC 451.5 .W56 2020
Anti-Blackness and Christian Ethics
E 185.615 .A725 2017
The History of Anti-Semitism, Volume 1
DS 145 .P4613 2003|ZV.1
The History of Anti-Semitism, Volume 2
DS 145 .P4613 2003|ZV.2
The History of Anti-Semitism, Volume 3
DS 145 .P4613 2003|ZV.3
The History of Anti-Semitism, Volume 4
DS 145 .P4613 2003|ZV.4
The Nation Must Awake: My Witness to the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921
F 704 .T92 P36 2021
Equality and Non-Discrimination: Catholic Roots, Current Challenges
BX 1753 .E684 2019
The Broken Heart of America: St. Louis and the Violent History of the United States
F 474 .S257 J65 2020
The Chattel Principle: Internal Slave Trades in the Americas
E 449 .C48 2004
Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery
HT 1029 .W6 M48 2008
White Freedom: The Racial History of an Idea
JC 585 .S756 2021
The Christian Imagination: Theology and the Origins of Race
BT 734.2 .J46 2010
Fugitive Saints: Catholicism and the Politics of Slavery
HT 917 .C3 G754 2017
Stand Your Ground: Black Bodies and The Justice of God
E 185.615 .D664 2015
The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America
E 185.615 .D9449 2016
Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019
E 185 .F625 2021
Unsung: Unheralded Narratives of American Slavery and Abolition
E 444 .U57 2021
The Sum of Us
E 185.8 .M38 S86 2021
Speaking of Race
HT 1521 .R6255 2021
Ebony & Ivy
LC 212.42 .W53 2013
Race, Racism, Antiracism & Social Justice Selected Titles - gallery 2
Resources Available on Racism, Antiracism, and Social Justice
- Catholic Social Teaching and RacismConsideration of racism is grounded in fundamental scriptural beliefs: equal dignity of all people, created in God’s image; and Christ’s redemption of all.
- Discourse of the Holy Father Francis to the Participants of the 7th World Congress for the Pastoral Care of MigrantsNovember 21, 2014 - speech by Pope Francis on the pastoral care of migrants.
- Infographic Racial Trauma is RealBoston College ISPRC Alumni Board infographic to accompany Racial Trauma is Real toolkit.
- Love Thy Neighbor as Thyself: U.S. Catholic Bishops Speak Against RacismUSCCB, Committee on Cultural Diversity in the Church, 2014.
- 158 Resources to Understand Racism in AmericaThese articles, videos, podcasts, and websites from the Smithsonian chronicle the history of anti-black violence and inequality in the United States.
- Racism ScaleRacism is a problem in the United States. Identify your own bias and help others explore theirs with this graduated scale.
- Racial Trauma is Real ToolkitIn this era of having witnessed multiple police killings of African American boys and men and girls and women either directly or vicariously through media accounts, communities of Color may experience post trauma symptoms. The Boston College ISPRC Alumni Board has released a toolkit for managing symptoms.
- Brothers and Sisters to UsU.S. Catholic Bishops Pastoral Letter on Racism, 1979
- Catechism of the Catholic Church, nos. 1928-1948Article Three - Social Justice
- Catholic 101: Church Teaching and the Anti-Racism MovementAs the movement for racial justice has received greater media attention in the past few months, particularly since the killing of George Floyd by police in Minneapolis, MN, some Catholics may be wondering what to think about the anti-racist movement and how it fits into the Church’s mission.
- Catholic Social TeachingThe Catholic Church proclaims that human life is sacred and that the dignity of the human person is the foundation of a moral vision for society. This belief is the foundation of all the principles of our social teaching. We believe that every person is precious, that people are more important than things, and that the measure of every institution is whether it threatens or enhances the life and dignity of the human person.
- Deep Divisions in Americans' Views of Racial History - And How to Address ItPew Research report - August 2021 --
Pew Research Center conducted this study to understand how the American public views the country’s progress toward ensuring equal rights for all Americans, regardless of their racial or ethnic background. For this analysis, we surveyed 10,221 U.S. adults in July 2021. Everyone who took part in this survey is a member of the Center’s American Trends Panel (ATP), an online survey panel that is recruited through national, random sampling of residential addresses. This way nearly all U.S. adults have a chance of selection. The survey is weighted to be representative of the U.S. adult population by gender, race, ethnicity, partisan affiliation, education and other categories. - Gaudium et Spes - Pastoral Constitution on the Church in the Modern World"But any kind of social or cultural discrimination in basic personal rights on the grounds of sex, race, color, social conditions, language or religion, must be curbed and eradicated as incompatible with God’s design." - Gaudium et Spes, Vatican II, 1965, #29.
- Life and Dignity of the Human PersonThe Catholic Church proclaims that human life is sacred and that the dignity of the human person is the foundation of a moral vision for society. This belief is the foundation of all the principles of our social teaching. - USCCB
- The National Black Catholic Catholic CongressThe National Black Catholic Congress, comprised of member organizations, represents African American Roman Catholics, working collaborating with National Roman Catholic organizations. We commit ourselves to establishing an agenda for the evangelization of African Americans; and physical conditions of African Americans, thereby committing ourselves to the freedom and growth of African Americans as full participants in church and society.
- National Black Sisters' ConferenceEstablished in August 1968, the National Black Sisters' Conference (NBSC) is an inclusive Catholic organization of vowed Black Catholic Women Religious and Associates from many congregations of religious across the United States.
- RacismReviewRacismReview is intended to provide a credible and reliable source of information for journalists, students and members of the general public who are seeking solid evidence-based research and analysis of “race,” racism, ethnicity, and immigration issues.
- Required Reading: A Black Catholic SyllabusA reading list on the history of Black Catholics in the United States and their contributions to Catholic theology, history, and activism.
- USCCB Ad Hoc Committee Against RacismArticles from the USCCB Ad Hoc Committee Against Racism -Seeking to teach about and to witness to the intrinsic dignity of the human person as an antidote to the grave sin of racism.
Videos
- Diana Hayes - Black Catholic History and Theology - SankofaDr. Diana L. Hayes, STD, is Professor Emerita of Sytematic Theology at Georgetown University. She is also on the Council of Elders of the Sankofa Institute for African American Pastoral Leadership. This keynote, delivered January 29, 2016 at Oblate School of Theology, is about Black Catholic History and Theology.
- How to Overcome our Biases? Walk Boldly Towards ThemOur biases can be dangerous, even deadly — as we've seen in the cases of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, and Eric Garner, in Staten Island, New York. Diversity advocate Vernā Myers looks closely at some of the subconscious attitudes we hold toward out-groups. She makes a plea to all people: Acknowledge your biases. Then move toward, not away from, the groups that make you uncomfortable. In a funny, impassioned, important talk, she shows us how.
- Let's Get to the Root of Racial InjusticeIn this inspiring and powerful talk, Megan Francis traces the root causes of our current racial climate to their core causes, debunking common misconceptions and calling out "fix-all" cures to a complex social problem.
- Robin DiAngelo - Decentering the White VoiceDr. Robin DiAngelo, a racial and social justice consultant, speaks at the 2019 ALA Midwinter.
- Your Privilege is ShowingWhether we acknowledge it or not, race, sex, gender, class, and privilege are all part of our daily lives no matter who we are, what we look like, or where we're from. But too often we don't talk about these issues for fear of saying the wrong thing, or that the conversations will be difficult, bitter, and even painful.