UD Resources on Accessibility
Hidden or Invisible Disabilities
What are invisible disabilities?
Invisible disability, or hidden disability, is an umbrella term that captures a whole spectrum of hidden disabilities or challenges. Nearly one in two people in the U.S. has a chronic medical condition of one kind or another, but most of these people are not considered to be disabled, as their medical conditions do not impair their normal everyday activities. These people do not use an assistive device and most look and act perfectly healthy. According to the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) an individual with a disability is a person who: Has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities; has a record of such an impairment; or is regarded as having such an impairment. Generally seeing a person in a wheelchair, wearing a hearing aid, or carrying a white cane tells us a person may be disabled. But what about invisible disabilities that make daily living a bit more difficult for many people worldwide Invisible disabilities can include chronic illnesses such as renal failure, diabetes, asthma, and sleep disorders if those diseases significantly impair normal activities of daily living. For example, there are people with visual or auditory impairments who do not wear hearing aids or eyeglasses so they may not seem to be obviously impaired. Those with joint conditions or problems who suffer chronic pain may not use any type of mobility aids on good days, or ever. Another example is Fibromyalgia which is now understood to be the most common cause of chronic musculoskeletal pain. Many people living with a hidden physical disability or mental challenge are still able to be active in their hobbies, work, and be active in sports. On the other hand, some struggle just to get through their day at work and some cannot work at all.
- Invisible Disabilities: Seeing Others With CompassionAn accomplished musician, Valerie may seem like a normal twenty year old college student. However, she has invisible disabilities as a result of being a preemie baby. Valerie explains what “parts” she has missing and what she has to do on a daily basis just to function. Her story will make us all a bit more compassionate.
Online Resources
- Accessible Technology (DO-IT)The DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) Center is dedicated to empowering people with disabilities through technology and education. It promotes awareness and accessibility—in both the classroom and the workplace—to maximize the potential of individuals with disabilities and make our communities more vibrant, diverse, and inclusive.
- American Foundation for the Blind Screen ReadersScreen readers are software programs that allow blind or visually impaired users to read the text that is displayed on the computer screen with a speech synthesizer or braille display.
- Autism SocietyThe Autism Society of America has been improving the lives of all affected by autism for over 50 years; provides advocacy, education, information and referral, support, and community at national, state and local levels.
- Autism Society of TexasThe Autism Society of Texas changes lives by connecting families and individuals to community resources and support throughout Texas.
- Autism SpeaksAutism Speaks is dedicated to promoting solutions, across the spectrum and throughout the life span, for the needs of individuals with autism and their families.
- Braille Institute LibraryBraille Institute’s Library Services—the Southern California branch of the National Library Service (NLS), a network coordinated by the Library of Congress—has for more than six decades provided a free library for the blind and visually impaired. Books, periodicals and other texts are available in braille and recorded formats. With a Reader Advisor’s help, choosing books is easy; patrons select from more than 100,000 titles and 1.2 million volumes accessible from the Library’s collection.
- Disability Rights and Universal Design - VCU Libraries Social Welfare History ProjectThis is a great overview of the history of disability rights and universal design using fantastic archival materials from the United States. A great place to start
- EveryBody: An Artifact History of Disability in AmericaAn overview of the history of disability from the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of American History.
- Explore Access: Tools for Promoting Disability Access and InclusionAn excellent primer on the language around disability and how it can be improved.
- International Dyslexia AssociationThe International Dyslexia Association's mission is to create a future for all individuals who struggle with dyslexia and other related reading differences.
- Learning American Sign LanguageASL is a visual language. With signing, the brain processes linguistic information through the eyes, and facial expressions and body movements play an important part in conveying information.
- National Library Service for the Blind and Print Disabled (LOC)A program through the Library of Congress, "NLS is a free braille and talking book library service for [U.S. residents and citizens living abroad] with temporary or permanent low vision, blindness, or a physical disability that prevents them from reading or holding the printed page."
- U.S. Dept. of Education: Students with Disabilities Preparing for PostsecondaryRights and responsibilities of students with disabilities who are preparing to attend postsecondary schools.
- Respectful Disability Language“The difference between the right word and the almost-right word
is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.”
— Mark Twain
Selected Readings
Keywords for Disability Studies
Online Access - Credo Reference
Understanding Deaf Culture
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language
REF HV 2475 .G35 2005
DISC in Media Cabinet
Understanding Autism Spectrum Disorders: Frequently Asked Questions
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Helen and Teacher: The Story of Helen Keller and Anne Sullivan Macy
HV 1624 .K4 L37
Comprehensive Guide to Autism
Online Access - SpringerLink
American Sign Language the Easy Way
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Working with the ADA: Understanding the Employment Provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Accessibility for Persons with Disabilities and the Inclusive Future of Libraries
Online Access - EBSCO eBook Collection
Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Diagnosis, Development, Neurobiology, and Behavior
RJ 506.A9 H26 2005
v.1 & v.2
Disability in Higher Education
LC 4813 .E83 2017
Disability as Diversity in Higher Education
LC 4818.38 .D55 2017
Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century
HV 1552.3 .D57 2020
We're Not Broken
RC 553 .A88 G364 2021
Be Opened!
BX 2373 .D42 P67 2021
Selected Films on Demand Videos
Films On Demand: Education Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Education Films on Demand addresses basics such as effective teaching methods and classroom management as well as best practices for use of technology, application of standards, overcoming the challenges of special needs students, understanding legal and ethical issues, English as a second language, and more. Access the videos by logging in with your UD network ID and password.
- American Sign Language: Level 1 - Greetings, the Alphabet...
- American Sign Language: Level 1 - Numbers, Money...
- An Introductory Course in American Sign Language
- Understanding Learning Disabilities
- Inside Dyslexia
- Assistive Technology: Powerful Solutions for Success