LibGuides: Theology & Ministry Library Research Guide: Specialized Catholic Resources

Specialized Catholic Resources

Moral Theology

Catholic moral theology, known as Christian ethics in non-Catholic contexts, encompasses Roman Catholic social teaching, medical ethics, sexual ethics, as well as, moral virtue and theory.

Moral theology seeks to define and address things such as different methods of moral discernment, the definitions of right and wrong, good and evil, sin and virtue, etc.

Papal Encyclicals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of Papal encyclicals and bulls in several languages going back to the 1200's. It also includes a Papal directory, a directory of Councils, and images (Papal Encyclicals Online webmaster) Free Web Access

Catechism of the Catholic Church
Catholic Dimensions of Legal Study
The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law Annotated Bibliography. An online database of more than 1180 bibliographic records of articles, books, book chapters, papal documents and other source materials entitled The Catholic Dimensions of Legal Study.
Centesimus Annus
Encyclical by John Paul II on the 100th anniversary of Rerum Novarum encyclical by Leo XIII
Code of Canon Law
Convocate
New database hosted by the University of Notre Dame to connect international human rights documents to Catholic social teaching.
Deus Caritas Est
Encyclical of Benedict XVI on Christian love
Documents Relating to Catholic Social Justice Teaching
This site provides over 450 links to the texts of popes, church councils, bishops' conferences and individual bishops on the subject of social justice including the "Social Justice Canon" of the major social justice documents since Rerum Novarum.
Evangelium Vitae
Encyclical of Pope John Paul II on the value and inviolability of human life
Laborem Exercens
Encyclical by John Paul II on human work
Mater et Magistra
Encyclical of Pope John XXIII on Christianity and Social Progress
Pacem in Terris
Encyclical of Pope John XXIII on Establishing Universal Peace in Truth, Justice, Charity, and Liberty
Populorum Progressio
Encyclical of Pope Paul VI on the development of peoples.
Quadragesimo Anno (After Forty Years)
Encyclical by Pope Pius XI on the fortieth anniversary of 'On the Condition of Workers' encyclical by Leo XIII.
Rerum Novarum
Encyclical of Pope Leo XIII on Capital and Labor (The Condition of Workers) (1891)
Sollicitudo rei Socialis
Encyclical by John Paul II on the 25th anniversary of Populorum Progressio encyclical by Paul VI.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops - Catholic Social Teaching
Catholic social teaching is a central and essential element of our faith. Its roots are in the Hebrew prophets who announced God's special love for the poor and called God's people to a covenant of love and justice. It is a teaching founded on the life and words of Jesus Christ, who came "to bring glad tidings to the poor . . . liberty to captives . . . recovery of sight to the blind"(Lk 4:18-19), and who identified himself with "the least of these," the hungry and the stranger (cf. Mt 25:45). Catholic social teaching is built on a commitment to the poor. This commitment arises from our experiences of Christ in the Eucharist.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops - Justice, Peace, and Human Development
This office of the National Conference of Catholic Bishops provides access to information about catholic social justice teaching and practice; promotes awareness of Catholic social teaching, and opportunities to live the Baptismal call to love God and neighbor.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops - Respect Life Program