Church History
Also known as "The Teaching of the (twelve) Apostles, the Didache is often regarded as the oldest extant manual of church order. Previously known only by name from passing patristic references, the Greek text was discovered in 1873 by Archbishop Philotheos Bryennios, metropolitan of Nicomedia, in the library of the patriarch at Constantinople and published a decade later. Further fragments of Greek, Coptic, Ethiopic, and Georgian versions have subsequently been found. Examination of the document revealed a close relationship between portionsof the the Didache and later canonistic works such as the Latin/Syriac 'Didascalia' and the Latin "Doctrina apostorlorum.' The compiler of the seventh book of the Apostolic Constitutions incorporated the entire Didache into his work in a modified recension. [from the New Catholic Encyclopedia]
The First Council of Nicaea (325 AD) was the first ecumenical council of the Church. It resulted in the first uniform Christian doctrine, called the Nicene Creed. With the creation of the creed, a precedent was established for subsequent local and regional councils of Bishops (Synods) to create statements of belief and canons of doctrinal orthodoxy—the intent being to define unity of beliefs for the whole of Christendom.
The Council; of Trent (Concilium Tridentinum), held between 1545 and 1563 in Trent (or Trento, in northern Italy), was an ecumentical council of the Catholic Church. Prompted by the Protestant Reformation, it has been described as the embodiment of the Catholic Reformation.
The Roman Catechism (also called, the Catechism of the Council of Trent or the Catechism of Pius V) was first published in 1566 under the authority of the Council of Trent. It was not intended for common use by the laity, but as a general use reference book for priests and bishops.
Catechism of the Council of Trent for Parish Priests
BX 1958 .E5 1982
The second Vatican Council addressed relations between the Catholic Church and the modern world. It was the twenty-first and most recent ecumenical council of the Catholic Church. The council opened under the pontificate of Pope John XXIII on October 11, 1962 and closed under Pope Paul VI on December 8, 1965. Meeting in four sessions, the council produced sixteen major documents, two dogmatic and three declarations.
Vatican II: The Basic Sixteen Documents...
BX 830 1962 .A3 F54 1996
The Catholic Church believes that 'saints' are ordinary and typical human beings who made it into heaven by living holy lives in obedience to God's will and are now in heaven for eternity. The title 'Saint' is a spiritual pronouncement , made by the Pope after a careful and thorough investigation, that this particular person is indeed in heaven. Catholic devotion to the saints is nothing more than respect and admiration for the memory of the deceased heroes and martyrs of the Church.
- Augustine of HippoMaintained by Georgetown University faculty, this site has many of Augustine's writings as well as supplementary research material.
- Catholic Online Saints and AngelsThis searchable site includes a saint index, saint FAQ, fun facts about saints, a saint calendar, and more.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook: Saint's Lives - Fordham UniversityOriginal texts written by or about Christian saints.
- Patron SaintsThis site offers biographies on the patron saints of many topics. Profiles contain portraits, areas of patronage, prayers, recommended links, and readings.
- Roman Catholic Saints by NameThis website features short biographies of saints, including a saint of the day. Saints can be searched for by name, date, etc.
- St. Thomas AquinasMaintained by the Dominican House of Studies, this page lists links to Aquinas' works in English and Latin.
- Early Christian WritingsThis website offers the full text of early christian writings from the first, second, and third centuries. The writings are listed in chronological order (as determined by the author of the website) and include the original language when possible.
- The Holy SeeVisit the Vatican home page to find information on all aspects of the central government of the Church. The site provides Vatican contact information, access to the Vatican Library collection, news and current events in the church, information on liturgical celebrations, the Roman Curia, and more.
- Internet Christian Library: Guide to Early Church DocumentsThis website links to Internet-accessible files relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
- Internet Sacred Texts Archive - ChristianityThis website is a freely accessible archive of sacred texts from many creeds. Visit this page for a listing of Christian texts, ranging from early to modern works.
- MedievalChurch.orgThis searchable website contains resources on the church during the Middle Ages.
- New Advent Catholic Supersite: Fathers of the ChurchThis website offers articles on the church fathers and their work and writings.
History of the Catholic Church by
The Catholic Church is the longest-enduring institution in the world. Beginning with the first Christians and continuing in our present day, the Church has been planted in every nation on earth.The Catholic Church claims Jesus Christ himself as her founder, and in spite of heresy from within and hostility from without, she remains in the twenty-first century the steadfast guardian of belief in his life, death, and resurrection. The teachings and redemptive works of Jesus as told in the Gospels are expressed by the Church in a coherent and consistent body of doctrine, the likes of which cannot be found in any other Christian body. The history of the Catholic Church is long, complicated, and fascinating, and in this book it is expertly and ably told by historian James Hitchcock. As in the parable of Christ about the weeds that were sown in a field of wheat, evil and good have grown together in the Church from the start, as Hitchcock honestly records. He brings before us the many characters--some noble, some notorious--who have left an indelible mark on the Church, while never losing sight of the saints, who have given living testimony to the salvific power of Christ in every age. This ambitious work is comprehensive in its scope and in incisive in its understanding, a valuable addition to any school or home library.
Call Number: BX 945.3 .H58 2012ISBN: 9781586176648Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Ecumenical Councils of the Catholic Church by
There have been twenty-one universal gatherings 'ecumenical councils' of the Catholic Church. The first opened in 325, the last closed in 1965, and the names of many ring out in the history of the church: Nicea, Chalcedon, Trent, Vatican II. Though centuries separate the councils, each occurred when the church faced serious crises, sometimes with doctrinal matters, sometimes with moral or even political matters, and sometimes with discerning the church's relation to the world. The councils determined much of what the Catholic Church is and believes. Additionally, many councils impacted believers in other Christian traditions and even in other faiths. In this accessible, readable, and yet substantial account of the councils Joseph Kelly provides both the historical context for each council as well as an account of its proceedings. Readers will discover how the councils shaped the debate for the following decades and even centuries, and will appreciate the occasional portraits of important conciliar figures from Emperor Constantine to Pope John XXIII.
Call Number: BX 823 .K45 2009ISBN: 9780814653760Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Triumph by
Presents a history of the Catholic Church from biblical times to the present day.
Call Number: BX 945.3 .C76 2001ISBN: 9780761529248Publication Date: 2001-11-13
Canons and Decrees of the Council of Trent by
This Council spanned the pontificates of five popes and shone as a beacon to all the world, condemning errors of the Protestant Reformation and making pronouncements on a vast number of Church doctrines and disciplines. Covers such topics as Holy Orders, Original Sin, Purgatory, Nicene Creed and much more! Fr. Schroeder's translation demonstrates the authority and clarity with which the Church makes her official pronouncements.
Call Number: BX 830 1545 .A3 S35 1978ISBN: 9780895550743Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Trent by
The Council of Trent (1545 1563), the Catholic Church s attempt to put its house in order in response to the Protestant Reformation, has long been praised and blamed for things it never did. Now, in this first full one-volume history in modern times, John W. O Malley brings to life the volatile issues that pushed several Holy Roman emperors, kings and queens of France, and five popes and all of Europe with them repeatedly to the brink of disaster. During the council s eighteen years, war and threat of war among the key players, as well as the Ottoman Turks onslaught against Christendom, turned the council into a perilous enterprise. Its leaders declined to make a pronouncement on war against infidels, but Trent s most glaring and ironic silence was on the authority of the papacy itself. The popes, who reigned as Italian monarchs while serving as pastors, did everything in their power to keep papal reform out of the council s hands and their power was considerable. O Malley shows how the council pursued its contentious parallel agenda of reforming the Church while simultaneously asserting Catholic doctrine. Like "What Happened at Vatican II," O Malley s "Trent: What Happened at the Council" strips mythology from historical truth while providing a clear, concise, and fascinating account of a pivotal episode in Church history. In celebration of the 450th anniversary of the council s closing, it sets the record straight about the much misunderstood failures and achievements of this critical moment in European history."
Call Number: BX 830 1545 .O43 2013ISBN: 9780674066977Publication Date: 2013-01-15
Didache by
One hundred twenty-five years ago, Philotheos Bryennios discovered the text of the Didache in an eleventh-century manuscript version. In 1883 he edited the manuscript for publication, and its special fascination for scholars remains undiminished. One of the oldest extracanonical Christian documents, the Didache's origins can be traced to the first century. It is apparently a catechism, intended to provide basic instructionin the Christian lifestyle and worship for persons preparing for baptism. The Didache exhibits fascinating echoes of Jesus' teaching in its Matthean form, along with rare glimpses into the life of an early Christian community--its values, its observance of the Eucharist, its leaders, and the character of its hope. Niederwimmer's wonderful commentary is a model of clarity and learning and a splendid addition to this premier commentary series.
Call Number: BS 2940 .T5 N5413 1998ISBN: 9780800660277Publication Date: 1998-11-02
History of Vatican II by Call Number: BX 830 1962 .H55 V.1ISBN: 9781570750496Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Theological Highlights of Vatican II by
Joseph Ratzinger's report on the debates and struggles that made up each of the four sessions of Vatican II (1962-65), along with theological commentary.
Call Number: BX 830 1962 .B4268 2009ISBN: 9780809146109Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Butler's Lives of the Saints by
For more than two centuries, Butler's Lives of the Saints has been hailed as the authority on the Christian patron saints. Now, in this new edition of the original classic, Michael Walsh has culled the ruch resources of earlier editions to accentuate the more modern and best-documented saints. Echoing the charm and style of the eighteenth-century edition, Walsh's volume has been edited to make the fascinating and inspiring lives of the saints easily accessible to readers today. This edition features saints from many nations and backgrounds and includes new articles on recently canonized saints. The index offers the list of saints from the complete edition, and includes all new canonizations and new dates, making it eh most up-to-date listing of saints available. Butlter's Lives of the Saints remains a remarkable reference source and, through its comprehensive biographies, a valuable aid to devotion and a rich source of historical information.
Call Number: BX 4654 .B8 1991ISBN: 9780060692995Publication Date: 1991-07-05
