LibGuides: Education Library Research Guide: Find Websites

Find Research Websites

American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
The American Federation of Teachers, an affiliate of the AFL-CIO, represents pre-K through 12th-grade teachers; paraprofessionals and other school-related personnel; higher education faculty and professional staff; federal, state and local government employees; and nurses and other healthcare professionals. The Texas affiliate is Texas AFT https://www.texasaft.org/
The Institute for Catholic Liberal Education (ICLE)
The Institute for Catholic Liberal Education (ICLE) is dedicated to saving and renewing our treasured Catholic school system, K-12, which is ever more vital in an increasingly “post-Christian” culture. To this end, ICLE offers conferences, workshops, site visits, teacher training, publications, and consultation services designed to give current and future teachers both theory and practice for immediate use. We work with entire dioceses, as well as parish schools, independent schools, and individual teachers.
National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
The National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) is a professional association representing more than 25,000 school psychologists, graduate students, and related professionals throughout the United States and an additional 25 countries worldwide. As the world's largest organization of school psychologists, NASP works to advance effective practices to improve students' learning, behavior, and mental health. Its vision is that all children and youth thrive in school, at home, and throughout life.
National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
NCEA is the largest, private professional education association in the world. NCEA works with Catholic educators to support ongoing faith formation and the teaching mission of the Catholic Church. Our membership includes nearly 150,000 educators serving 1.7 million students in Catholic education.
National Education Association (NEA)
The National Education Association is a labor union that represents public school teachers and other support personnel, faculty and staffers at colleges and universities, retired educators, and college students preparing to become teachers. The Texas affiliate is the Texas State Teachers Association: https://www.tsta.org/

(Anatomy/Physiology) Human Anatomy & Physiology Society (HAPS)
(Art) National Art Education Association (NAEA)
(Bilingual education) National Association for Bilingual Education (NABE)
(Biology) National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT)
(Chemistry) American Association of Chemistry Teachers (AACT)
(Classical languages) The American Classical League (ACL)
(English) National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
(Foreign languages) American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
(French) American Association of Teachers of French (AATF)
(Geography) National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE)
(German) American Association of Teachers of German (AATG)
(History) American Historical Association (AHA)
(Music) Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)
(Physical education) Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE)
(Physics) American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)
(Science) National Science Teaching Association (NSTA)
(Social Studies) National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
(Spanish & Portuguese) The American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP)
(Theatre) Educational Theatre Association (EdTA)
(Young children) National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

American Educational Research Association
The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.
Library of Congress: The Teaching with Primary Sources Partner Program
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Literacy.Org
Literacy.org is a source for research and development on literacy in the U.S. and worldwide. Literacy.org is housed at the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education and is comprised of the National Center for Adult Literacy and the International Literacy Institute.
National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER)
NIEER conducts academic research to inform policy supporting high-quality, early education for all young children promoting the physical, cognitive and social development needed for children to succeed in school and later life. NIEER provides independent, research-based analysis and technical assistance to policymakers, journalists, researchers, and educators.
Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education strives to be the preeminent national voice, and a world leader, for enhancing teaching and learning in higher education. It also supports increased awareness, research, dissemination, and application of scholarly approaches to teaching and learning.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
NCES Bibliography Search Tool
The Bibliography Search Tool allows you to search for individual citations from journal articles that have been published using data from 18 research programs conducted by NCES (click on the icons below for more information on each program). The bibliography is updated continually. The list of citations was derived from computer searches of online bibliographic databases (i.e., EBSCO, JSTOR, EconLit, Dissertation Abstracts), ERIC, as well as the NCES website.
Texas Education Agency: Reports and Data
Thanks to a decision in the 1980s to create the Public Education Information Management System, known as PEIMS, Texas has one of the largest education data bases in the world. It provides a treasure trove of information for researchers, parents and the public at large to mine and learn about the workings of 1,200 districts and charters, as well as TEA. That information and other data is used to create a number of reports that provide information about a variety of topics, such as student performance, spending and implementation of legislation.