Library Tools
- UD DiscoveryThis federated searching tool returns results from many UD Library resources at the same time.
UD Discovery is a bit like "Library Google." It searches through many (but not all!) of the books, articles, and other resources we have access to through our library. It can also search for citations to materials we don't have but that you can obtain through Tipasa-Interlibrary Loan.
This tool is great for looking up the name of a particular article by its title to see if we have access, finding library resources on more obscure topics, and reading short topic overviews called "Research Starters" before you begin your more specific research. Subject-specific databases often work better once you have honed in on your research topic.
- A-Z Database ListThis is a browsable list of all the databases available through the University of Dallas. There are over 200 databases available, so narrow guides by subject for a shorter list that will be more useful to your research. Your database login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
- Library CatalogUse the catalog to search for books and e-books. Your catalog username is your student ID number and generally the last four digits of your phone number or 0000 (for example, 900123456 and 0000).
- Library of Congress ClassificationInformation about the way the subjects and books in the library are arranged. The education books are found in the LC Class "L's" located on the second floor of the Library. Additional materials, such as reference books may be found on the first (main) floor of the library.
L --- Education (General)
LA --- History of Education
LB --- Theory and Practice of Education
LC --- Special Aspects of Education
LD --- Individual Institutions: United States
- WorldCatWorldCat lets you search thousands of library catalogs around the world with one search. If you need a book we don't have that you have found in WorldCat, you can request it through Tipasa-Interlibrary Loan.
Search by title of publication or by subject, and easily view which UD Library databases contain your journal, newspaper, or magazine. Use the "search within publication" feature to find your topic inside the publication, and then narrow your results by date.
- DART-Europe e-thesesDART-Europe is a compilation of European research theses, provided through a partnership of research libraries and library consortia. It is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche). (NDLTD or European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, the database contains the full-text of more than 2.1 million dissertations and theses from the US, UK, Continental Europe, and China. (Proquest - Direct). Dissertations and Theses is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Open Dissertations is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- Tipasa Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
Get Started
- Brainstorm with a Concept MapA mind map is a graphical representation of ideas and concepts. It's a visual thinking tool for structuring information, helping you to better understand, remember and generate new ideas.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service made up of a vast number of encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Credo Reference is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. Its broad scope includes statistics, classics, definitions, articles in journals, and maps. (Britannica - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account. Encyclopaedia Britannica is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account. Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This is a database of cross-searchable encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, such as Encyclopedia of Global Industries. Options to search with no limiters, select Publication Title and enter search term, or select category from a drop down menu: Business, History, Literature, or Religion. (Gale - Direct). Gale eBooks is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas, through support provided by TexShare.
Search Strategy
- Using Boolean "AND" Searching
- Using Boolean "OR" Searching
- Using Boolean "NOT" Searching
