Cybersecurity Library Research Guide: Websites

The MITRE ATT&CK framework has been around for years, but we are now seeing it being adopted by organizations more as they realize the need for a strong IT security team and more funding is becoming available to increase the maturity of information security programs. This framework helps organizations manage cyber risk better and plan what data needs to be available for when the time comes for cyberthreat detection, or investigating a security incident.

The Framework is voluntary guidance, based on existing standards, guidelines, and practices for organizations to better manage and reduce cybersecurity risk. In addition to helping organizations manage and reduce risks, it was designed to foster risk and cybersecurity management communications amongst both internal and external organizational stakeholders.

Data Breach Today covers topics in risk management, compliance, fraud, and information security, as well as producing a comprehensive list of major data breaches with comprehensive details about each breach.

In this article, Geeks for Geeks outline ten differences between cloud computing and traditional computing, including pros and cons of each.

Identity Force's annual list of the biggest data breaches of the year. The list is updated weekly with new information.

The mission of the National Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity (NCAE) program is to create and manage a collaborative cybersecurity educational program with community colleges, colleges, and universities.

The mission of NICE is to energize, promote, and coordinate a robust community working together to advance an integrated ecosystem of cybersecurity education, training, and workforce development.

NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies to the largest and most complex of human-made creations—from nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair up to earthquake-resistant skyscrapers and global communication networks.

Today more than ever, IT professionals are forced to operate in a complex business environment where success is no longer determined by a single factor, such as getting the best computer system or having the right technical skills. Now, complexity is the norm — and every aspect of the environment is becoming more complex. In this article, the authors identify six key areas of complexity.

From Duo’s easy-to-use multi-factor authentication (MFA) to MFA-attack-preventing risk-based authentication, Duo provides first-class zero trust tools.

"Kali Linux is an open source project that is maintained and funded by Offensive Security, a provider of world-class information security training and penetration testing services."

Brian Krebs's blog on computer security news.

Bruce Shneier's Blog on "the intersection of security, technology, and people."

Pierluigi Paganini's blog focusing on criminal activities in the deep web.

"Home of the Security Bloggers Network"

"The Social-Engineer Blog is an informational post that is designed to keep our readers up-to-date with current SE news involving relevant science, research, and studies. It also reports on SE attacks with tips on staying safe, as well as funny stories that are related to SE."

Richard Bejtlich's blog on digital security, strategic thought, and military history.

Maintained by Harlan Carvey, the Windows Incident Response Blog is "dedicated to the myriad information surrounding and inherent to the topics of IR and digital analysis of Windows systems."

Blog from Cisco Talos Intelligence

The latest news and insights from Google on security and safety on the Internet

Threat intel digest from Digital Shadows covering the top threat intelligence stories of the week

"@RISK provides a reliable weekly summary of (1) newly discovered attack vectors, (2) vulnerabilities with active new exploits, (3) insightful explanations of how recent attacks worked, and other valuable data."

A free security awareness magazine "published every month in multiple languages, each edition is carefully researched and developed by the SANS Security Awareness team, instructors and community members."

"SANS NewsBites is a semiweekly high-level executive summary of the most important news articles that have been published on computer security during the last week."

"Get a daily look at what’s developing in science and technology throughout the world."

Weekly Intelligence Updates from the Talos Security Intelligence and Research Group

The latest National Cybersecurity Centre (NCSC) Reports

Your daily source for the most important privacy and data protection news from around the world.

NCAE-C program aims to create and manage a collaborative cybersecurity educational program.

CISA leads the Nation’s strategic and unified work to strengthen the security, resilience, and workforce of the cyber ecosystem to protect critical services and American way of life.

“To collaborate with both the CAE Community and the CAE-C Program Management Office (PMO) to build a Cybersecurity Excellence Community of Practice in Cyber Defense (CoP-CD) in order to gather and share input from the broader community as well as to provide continuous program improvement".

At the NCCoE, we bring together experts from industry, government, and academia to address the real-world needs of securing complex IT systems and protecting the nation’s critical infrastructure.

The NICE Community Coordinating Council has prepared an Implementation Plan for the 2021-2025 NICE Strategic Plan.

Cyber security is a fast-moving sector, as both hackers and security providers vie to outsmart each other. New threats – and innovative ways to combat them – emerge all the time. In this overview, we explore the latest trends in cyber security.

Identify, define, and catalog publicly disclosed cybersecurity vulnerabilities.

GAO provides Congress, the heads of executive agencies, and the public with timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can be used to improve government and save taxpayers billions of dollars.

Headquartered in The Hague, the Netherlands, we support the 27 EU Member States in their fight against terrorism, cybercrime and other serious and organised forms of crime. We also work with many non-EU partner states and international organisations.

"From analyst reports to eBooks and videos to webinars, we have all the data protection content you need."

Free Ethical Hacking Course from Offensive Security

Free online security courses. "Our courses are led by information security experts on today's most popular security topics including cloud security, data protection, IAM, compliance and more. These lessons -- many of which feature video seminars and review quizzes eligible for CPE credits -- will arm you with the foundational and tactical information needed to keep your organization compliant and secure."

"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics—from science to business to global issues—in more than 100 languages."

Dispatch article on "how geopolitical competition between the West and China could bring about the ‘splinternet'."

"CISA, FBI warn of satellite network hacks following Viasat cyberattack
CISA and the FBI issued a joint cybersecurity advisory Thursday evening calling for U.S. and international satellite communication (SATCOM) network providers and customers to stay alert of possible threats..."

* Note: this Ransomware Tracker is updated on the 10th day of each month to stay current *

Stormcasts are daily 5-10 minute information security threat updates. The podcast is produced each work day, and typically released late in the day to be ready for your morning commute.

Updates on the latest cybersecurity threats to businesses, data breach disclosures, and how you can secure your firm in an increasingly risky time.

Cybersecurity & Privacy Law360 provides breaking news and analysis on cybersecurity and privacy law. Coverage includes cybersecurity and privacy suits and enforcement actions, data protection compliance issues, data breaches, as well as domestic and international policy developments.

CyberScoop is a leading media brand in the cybersecurity market. With more than 6.0M monthly unique engagements, CyberScoop reports on news and events impacting technology and security.

"CSO provides news, analysis and research on security and risk management"

"Cyware is aimed at revolutionizing the cybersecurity industry by developing innovative cybersecurity products and solutions. Cyware’s mission is to empower organizations to adopt a proactive approach towards cybersecurity through strategic and tactical threat intelligence sharing, and cyber fusion analysis."

"Darknet is a group of like-minded individuals founded around 1999 sharing knowledge in password cracking, cracking, cryptography, programming (C++, VB, Delphi, C, Pascal, Assembly, Python, PERL, Bash and so on), network security, Linux, Windows, UNIX and more."

A Creative Commons-licensed wiki devoted to information about digital forensics.

"Whether you are exploring a career in cybersecurity, honing your technical expertise or an established security executive, the ISSA offers you a network of 10,000 colleagues worldwide to support you in managing technology risk and protecting critical information and infrastructure. Enhance your professional stature, expand your peer network and achieve your personal career goals."

"Cyber security news and consulting services."

Information security and technology news site.

News site "sharing IT expert guidance and insight, in-depth analysis, and news. We also educate people with product reviews in various content forms. As a dedicated cybersecurity news platform, HC has been catering unbiased information to security professionals, on the countless security challenges that they come across every day."

"Cybersecurity Ventures is the world’s leading researcher and Page ONE for the global cyber economy, and a trusted source for cybersecurity facts, figures, and statistics. [Provides] cyber economic market data, insights, and ground-breaking predictions to a global audience of CIOs and IT executives, CSOs and CISOs, information security practitioners, cybersecurity company founders and CEOs, venture capitalists, corporate investors, business and finance executives, HR professionals, and government cyber defense leaders."

The Hacker News ( aka THN) is a leading and go-to source for timely and relevant breaking news from the world of cybersecurity, as well as valuable insights into the latest threats and solutions.

Delivered every Monday by 10 a.m., Weekly Cybersecurity examines the latest news in cybersecurity policy and politics.

The Cyber Daily® newsletter highlights news stories from The Record by Recorded Future and trending threats from the Recorded Future platform

Newsletter concerning cyber security.

"Threatpost is a long-running, independent source of news and analysis about the cybersecurity landscape, covering breaking news and threat research, malware and vulnerability analysis, long-term trends and everything in-between."

Data Breach Reports and webinars from Verizon.

Reports on cybersecurity.

"CrowdStrike offers a cloud-native cybersecurity platform that stops breaches and secures businesses of all shapes and sizes."

"The Record by Recorded Future gives you exclusive, behind-the-scenes access to leaders, policymakers, researchers, and the people in the shadows of the cyber underground."

"Explore security resources, trends and updates, media, podcast episodes, and more."

"WIRED is where tomorrow is realized. It is the essential source of information and ideas that make sense of a world in constant transformation."

Positions Available In Cybersecurity Identified in Cyberseek Heatmap and Career Pathway

Cybernews.com is a research-based online publication that helps people navigate a safe path through their increasingly complex digital lives.

The Verge is about technology and how it makes us feel. Founded in 2011, they offer everything from breaking news to reviews to award-winning features and investigations, on their site, in video, and in podcasts.

Get global tech news, advice and insights with ZDNET. Research the latest trends and stay up to date on groundbreaking innovations. Find the information you need to harness tomorrow’s solutions today.

Cybersecurity Dive provides in-depth journalism and insight into the most impactful news and trends shaping cybersecurity, The newsletters and website cover topics such as breaches, vulnerability, threats, and more.