Find Books
- Library CatalogUse the catalog to search for books and e-books. Your catalog username is your student ID number and generally the last four digits of your phone number or 0000 (for example, 900123456 and 0000).
- Library of Congress ClassificationInformation about the way the subjects and books in the library are arranged. The LC subject category for philosophy encompasses these ranges: B1-5802 Philosophy (General); BC1-199 Logic; BD10-701 Speculative philosophy; BH1-301 Aesthetics; and BJ1-1725 Ethics, but philosophy related materials will be found in other subject areas.
Library of Congress Tutorial
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowLocates books and other materials in libraries worldwide, including the University of Dallas, through a collaborative catalog. Coverage is from 1200 to present. Connect to Tipasa and the UD catalog via remote access with a university network account.
Find E-Reference Books
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new windowThis continuously updated collection of ebooks includes: Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music. Includes over 500 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein. Offering over 5000 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme. (Cambridge-Direct)
- e-Book Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format (formerly NetLibrary). Establish an account within the database to save information for future use. (EBSCO)
- e-Book Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
E-Book Central is a collection of thousands of electronic books provided through Proquest. UD primarily has access to two collections:
-eLibro Premium, includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain, on a variety of subjects.
-Science & Technology Ebook Collection, which offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. - Loeb Classical Library Online This link opens in a new windowThe Loeb Classical Library Online includes an interconnected, fully-searchable virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin Literature, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, medicine, mathematicians, Church fathers, and more. The Library online contains more than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts, and gives the ability to toggle between single- and dual-language reading. The online features allow users to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content. The database also provides the opportunity to share reading lists and notes.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new windowFrom the University of California, the UC Press E-Books Collection provides access an eBook collection of academic presses for 1982-2004. The collection includes the topics of art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. (Univ. of CA - Free Web Access) Remote Access with University Network Account
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: B 41 .C35 2015ISBN: 9781107015050Publication Date: 2015This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding. Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: B 51 .E53ISBN: 9780028660721Publication Date: 2005This English-language reference source for philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Find Texts
- Library of Latin Texts, LLT (formerly known as CLCLT or CETEDOC) This link opens in a new window
LLT consists of two parts, LLT-A and LLT-B. Both parts can be searched together by using the Cross Database Searchtool icon. Content includes texts from the beginning of Latin literature (250 B.C.) through the Second Vatican Council. It provides an extensive corpus of classical and medieval Latin literature, including the complete works of Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, and Thomas a Kempis, and the Latin Vulgate Bible. (Brepolis) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowReplica of Jacques-Paul Ming volumes depicting late ancient & early medieval theology, philosophy, history & literature from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent II in 1216 from the publisher Chadwyck. Searchable in Greek keyword as well as Latin. (Proquest - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Corpus ThomisticumContaining all of Aquinas's works available online in Latin, this illustrated source has parts translated into other languages, including English. Comprehensive in scope, it includes different versions, a bibliography which spans the 13th century to the present, and an index noting the editions of the works of St. Thomas. (Fundacion Tomas de Aquino) Free Web Access
- Some Texts from Early Modern PhilosophyThis source Makes available English language texts of 16th, 17th and 18th century philosophers that have been modernized by Jonathan Bennett. Includes writings by Berkeley, Descartes, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Spinoza and others.
- University of Dallas Textual Analysis Tool (UDTAT)UDTAT provides interactive visual analyses of classic texts with with side-by-side commentary. Created by University of Dallas faculty members, it is still in the initial phase of development. At present the TAT contains one text, Aristotle's Categories, and is available exclusively to University of Dallas students, faculty, and staff.
Find Print Reference Books
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, guides, atlases, etc. Although largely replaced by online sources, print sources offer information not always accessible electronically. They provide ready information, background treatment of complex subjects, and, with bibliographies, guides to other sources.
Print Reference Books (Located on first floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library)
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Call Number: B51 .O94ISBN: 9780198661320Publication Date: 1995This is the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The scope of the volume is not limited to English-language philosophy: it surveys the foremost philosophy from all parts of the world. (The second edition is available as an e-book.)
General
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth Century Philosophers Ref B 804 .B52
Dictionary of the History of Ideas Ref CB 5 .D52
Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy Ref B 803 .E35 (Available as an e-book.)
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy Ref B 163 .E53
Historisches Worterbuch der Philosophie Ref B 43 .R58
International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers Ref B 35 .I57
Masterpieces of World Philosophy Ref B 75 .M37
Philosophy, a Guide to the Reference Literature B 72 .B97 (Available as an e-book.)
World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works Ref B 29 .W68
Specialized
Companion to Aesthetics Ref BH 56 .C65
Companion to Metaphysics Ref BD 111 .C626
Companion to Philosophy in the Middle Ages Ref B 721 .C54
Concordance to Pascal's Pensees Ref B 1900 .A16 C65
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Ref BH 56 .E53
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Ref QH 332 .E52
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Ref GE 42 .E533
Encyclopedia of Ethics Ref BJ 63 .E45 (Second edition available as an e-book.)
Encyclopedia of Unbelief Ref BL 2705 .E53
A Hegel Dictionary Ref B 2901 .I56 (Available as an e-book.)
The Heidegger Concordance Ref B 3279 .H49
Historical Dictionary of Descartes and Cartesian Philosophy Ref B 1831 .H57
Historical Dictionary of Epistemology Ref BD 150 .B34
Historical Dictionary of Hegelian Philosophy Ref B 2901 .B87
Historical Dictionary of Hume's Philosophy Ref B 1451 .M47
Historical Dictionary of Husserl's Philosophy Ref B 3279 .H93 Z833
A Hobbes Dictionary Ref B 1246 .M37 (Available as an e-book.)
Husserl-Lexicon Ref B 3279 .H93Z86
A Kant Dictionary Ref B 2751 .C38 (Available as an e-book.)
Nietzsche-Lexikon Ref B 3311 .N52
Platon-Lexikon Ref B 351 .P53
Wittgenstein-Lexikon Ref B 3376 .W563 Z8315
Word Index to Plato Ref B 351 .B72