Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Biblical Studies Library Research Guide: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Theological Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Catholic Dictionary of Theology.  New York:  Nelson, 1962.  REF BR 95 .C27

Collegeville Pastoral Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Ed. Carroll Stuhlmueller.  Collegeville: Liturgical Press, 1996.  REF BS 471 .C735 1996

Concise Dictionary of Theology.  Ed. Gerald O'Collins.  New York:  Paulist Press, 1991.  REF BR 95 .O25 1991

Dictionary of Biblical Theology.  Ed. Xavier Leon-Dufour.  New York:  Seabury Press, 1973.  REF BS 543 .A1 L4 E 1973

Dictionary of Fundamental Theology.  Ed. Rene Latourelle.  New York:  Crossroad, 1994.  REF BT 1102 .D5813 1994

Dictionary of Historical Theology.  Ed. Trevor A. Hart.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans, 2000  REF BT 21.2 .D53 2000

Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms, Drawn Principally from Protestant Scholastic Theology.  Ed. Richard A. Muller.  Carlisle: Paternoster, 1985.  REF BR 95 .M85 1985

Dictionary of Theology.  Ed. Karl Rahner.  New York:  Crossroad, 1988.  REF BR 95 .R313 1988

Encyclopedia of Christian Theology.  Ed. Jean-Yves Lacoste.  3 v. New York:  Routledge, 2005.  REF BR 95 .D5313 2005

New Dictionary of Theology.  Ed. Joseph A. Komonchak.  Wilmington:  Michael Glazier, 1987.  REF BR 95 .N38 1987

New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology.  Ed. Colin Brown.  Grand Rapids:  Zondervan, 1975.  REF 2397 .N48 1975

Sacramentum Mundi; an Encyclopedia of Theology.  Ed. Karl Rahner.  6 v. New York:  Herder and Herder.  REF 95 .S23

Sacramentum Verbi: An Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology.  Ed. Johannes B. Bauer.  3 v. New York:  Herder and Herder,  REF BS 440 .B38

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament.  Ed. Geoffrey W. Bromiley.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans.  REF BS 2397 .A1 K5 E

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament.  Ed. G. Johannes Botterweck.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans.  REF BS 440 .B5713

General Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - The Big Three

Anchor Bible Dictionary.  Ed. David Noel Freedman.  6 v.  New York:  Doubleday, 1992.  This premier English-language Bible dictionary, widely considered to be a definitive scholarly achievement, presents the latest in Biblical scholarship at the time it was published. Almost a thousand contributors, many of whom represent a new generation of scholars, contributed authoritative, comprehensive definitions and articles.  REF BS 440 .A54

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia.  Ed.  Geoffrey W. Bromiley.  4 v.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans.  REF BS 440 .I6

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible.  4 v.  Nashville:  Abingdon Press, 2006.  REF BS 440 .N443 2006

Other Bible Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation.  Ed.  John H. Hayes.  Nashville:  Abingdon Press, 1999.  REF BS 500 .D5 1999

Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels.  Ed. Joel B. Green.  Downers Grove:  InterVarsity Press, 1992.  REF BS 2555.2 .D53 1992

Dictionary of New Testament Background.  Ed. Craig A. Evans.  Downers Grove:  InterVarsity Press, 2000.  REF BS 2312 .D53 2000

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.  Ed. David Noel Freedman.  Grand Rapids:  Eerdmans, 2000.  REF BS 440 .E44 2000

Harper's Bible Dictionary.  Ed. Paul J. Achtemeier.  San Francisco:  Harper & Row, 1985  REF BS 440 .H237 1985

Illustrated Bible Dictionary.  Ed. J.D. Douglas.  3 v. Wheaton:  Tyndale House, 1980  REF BS .I44 1980

Pictorial Biblical Encyclopedia: a Visual Guide to the Old and New Testaments.   Ed. Gaalyahu Cornfeld.  New York:  Macmillan, 1964.  REF BS 440 .C63

Non-English Language Bible and Theological Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Diccionario de la Biblia.  Ed. Herbert Haag.  Barcelona:  Herder, 2005.  REF BS 440 .H25 2005

Dictionnaire de la Bible, Supplement.  Ed. L. Pirot.  Paris:  Letouzey et Ane, 1928 - (2006 is the latest volume).  REF BS 440 .V72 (Blakley Library also has the 1912 edition of this major French Bible dictionary, REF BS 440 .V7 1912.)

Lexikon fur Theologie und Kirche.  Ed. Michael Buchberger. 10 v. Freiburg: Herder, 1957-65.  REF BR 95 .L48

Theologische Realenzyklopadie.  Ed. Horst Robert Balz.  17 v.  New York:  de Gruyter.  REF BR 95 .T47

Theologisches Worterbuch zum Neuen Testament.  Ed. Gerhard Kittel. Stuttgart: W. Kohlhammer.  REF BS 2397 .A1 K5 G

Theologisches Worterbuch zum Alten Testament.  Ed. George W. Anderson.  Stuttgart: W. Kohlhammer.  REF BS 440 .T47

Search WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>