*/Skip to main content
HELPFUL HINTS FOR SCRIPTURE CITATION SEARCHING
For introductory commentary and information on a specific Scripture citation, use the Anchor Bible commentaries located under Ref BS 192.2 .A1 G3 in the reference section on the first floor of Blakley Library. For many of the volumes, circulating copies are also available to check out.
Finding books available in Blakley Library:
To locate books, go to the Catalog Quick Search bar, enter bible o t or bible n t (no capitalization or punctuation necessary), followed by the name of the Biblical book (e.g. bible o t genesis or bible n t matthew). For more specific information, add a chapter number. NOTE: Chapter numbers are provided in Roman numerals.
You may want to find specific books that are identified in your search or use the general call number for the Biblical book to browse the shelves.
Finding articles/commentary in online databases:
Four databases provided by Blakley Library have specific search tools for locating Scripture information at the chapter and verse level:
(1) ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, formerly a separate database, has been absorbed into ATLA) (2) New Testament Abstracts Online, (3) Old Testament Abstracts Online and (4) Oxford Biblical Studies Online.
To search ATLA, New Testament Abstracts and Old Testament Abstracts for articles on a specific Scripture citation, use the advanced search mode. There will be a link at the top of the page for “Scriptures” and one for “Indexes”. The “Scriptures” link will take you directly to a list of Scripture citations. When selecting “Indexes” you will then see a drop-down box and you will choose “Scripture Citations” and enter your citation of interest into the “Browse” search bar. To narrow your search, use limiters (e.g. language, publication types, etc.) and additional search bars to add subjects, names or other relevant terms.
For helpful tutorials produced by ATLA on using the “Scriptures” tool and the “Scripture Citations” search technique, go to the “Biblical Studies and Scholarship” subject guide on the home page of Blakley Library and select the “Best Databases for Biblical Study” tab.
When searching in the Oxford Biblical Studies database use the “Bible Verse Lookup” or the “View Biblical Texts in Three Different Ways” features which are both located on the database home page.
Selecting databases when searching for articles:
Although there is some overlap between ATLA, New Testament Abstracts and Old Testament Abstracts, if you are doing a comprehensive search you should search each one separately. For a less comprehensive search or more limited time, ATLA will often provide enough articles.