Search our frequently asked questions!
If you know a journal's title, search Full Text Journal Finder see if UD has full-text access. You can also browse journals by subject
Request books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
The primary goal of collection development is to ensure that information resources most needed to support the University's instructional, research, and service mission are available to the faculty, students, and staff at the University of Dallas.
Each academic department has its own process for submitting library purchase requests. New faculty who are unaware with the process should check with their department chair for more information.
To request Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library to consider a book for purchase, fill out our Suggest A Book Form. Your request will then be submitted to our Acquisitions department for consideration. If you are faculty, please request your titles through your department bibliographer.
If the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library does not own a specific book, a good way to review a book is to borrow it from other libraries. To see if it available at a library near you, search WorldCat. If the title is not available locally, request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) using the ILLiad form and the material will be delivered within 5-10 business days.
The Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library considers collection development a joint responsibility of both the librarians and faculty. Librarians select most reference and interdisciplinary materials while faculty select materials in their areas of expertise that satisfy the teaching and research needs of their respective departments.
We encourage all faculty to talk with their department bibliographer and library liaison if there are monographs, journals, or database titles that support the curriculum that we currently do not have access to.
Department bibliographers have access to a shared department monograph request sheet that they will grant access to on request. Add your suggestions to the form and once the bibliographer has okayed the request, Acquisitions then orders the book.
The following specific Library databases are helpful in identifying and reviewing scholarly material for possible purchase:
With coverage back to 1983, the Book Review Digest Plus brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music and more. (EBSCO/Wilson - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. It covers more than 900 subject areas. Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
The following resource is also helpful in identifying scholarly resources: