PHI 5100-Philosophy Proseminar

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an open-access resource very highly regarded for its scholarly, authoritative content.  The entries are authored by leading scholars and include extensive bibliographies which identify books and articles.

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) provides scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics in philosophy and philosophers.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy strives to be comprehensive in coverage and includes articles authored by top scholars which feature excellent bibliographies.  New and revised content is added frequently and the content is enriched by the many linked cross-references. 

The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion & Culture  are a rich source for information on various philosophers and philosophical topics.  Chapters can be downloaded individually and generally include bibliographies.  A bonus feature is that the Companions chapters citation information can be exported directly to RefWorks.

Philosopher's Index  - This index is a comprehensive bibliography of philosophical scholarly research.  The publisher is the Philosopher's Information Center, a non-profit educational organization and the Index is the most important contribution of the Center to the philosophical community.  The first issue of the index was published in 1967 and through retrospective indexing it has coverage of various topics back to 1940.   What makes it so useful:  (1) All subject areas of philosophy and of related disciplines are included; (2) Most citations include author-written abstracts; (3)  The subject headings assigned to the Index content are selected by a team of 12 philosophers who serve as assistant editors and they work without the aid of computer indexing.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials - The American Theological Library Association provides this comprehensive database for religious research.y journals. 

Oxford Biblical Studies Online is a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.  Texts from selected Oxford Bibles can be viewed in side-by-side display with the user's choice of commentary and many Bible reference sources are included.

Academic Source Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals.

Project Muse is an online collection of hundreds of full text journals from scholarly publishers. All participating journals are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles.  It continues some of the journals that are found in JSTOR.

JSTOR  provides access to archived scholarly journals.  Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and each year has a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. 

Past Masters Index includes access to full-text primary works, letters, journals and notebooks from major philosophers.  Collections included in Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library's subscription:  Aquinas: Collected Works; Aristotle: Complete Works; St. Augustine - Complete Works; British Philosophy 1600-1900; Hume: Complete Works and Correspondence; Locke: Philosophical Works and Select Correspondence; the Continental Rationalists; Nietzsches Werke; Plato: Collected Dialogues; Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill; and Wittgenstein: Published Works.