This is the "Home" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy   Tags: aesthetics, ethics, logic, metaphysics, philosophy  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2014 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/philosophy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Blakley Library Philosophy Resources

 Plato, copy of portrait made by Silanion ca 370 B.C.
(photo by Marie-Lan Nguyen, Creative Commons Attribution)

Blakley Library houses an excellent collection of primary philosophical texts.  It receives around fifty philosophy and philosophy-related journals in several languages, which makes it one of the most extensive collections of philosophical review in the Southwest.

Quick Links

 

ILLiad

No library has access to everything ~ if they did, where would they put it?  Because of this most libraries will share the resources they have with other libraries. This is called InterLibrary Loan.

 

Exciting new access...

The Loeb Classical Library Online, which provides the full-text of every book in the Loeb Classical Library, includes writings by Aristotle, Plato, Philo, Epictetus, Plotinus, and other philosophers.

Past Masters Index includes access to full-text primary works, letters, journals and notebooks from major philosophers.  Collections included in Blakley Library's subscription:  Aquinas: Collected Works; Aristotle: Complete Works; British Philosophy 1600-1900; Hume: Complete Works and Correspondence; Locke: Philosophical Works, Select Correspondence; the Continental Rationalists; Nietzsches Werke; Plato: Collected Dialogues; Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill; and Wittgenstein: Collected Works.

The Cambridge Companion Series is a collection in e-book format of over 500 Cambridge Companion volumes.  Included are Companions on philosophy, religion and culture; literature and classics; and music. Click here to see all available volumes in the philosophy, religion and culture area of interest. (Some of these volumes are also available in print format in Blakley Library.)

A very useful website for the full-text of the philosophical texts of David Hume, DavidHume.org, includes his texts in editions that are very close to the print editions of the 18 century.  It is searchable by keyword and it includes the Peter Millican annotated bibliography "Critical Survey of the Literature on Hume and the First Enquiry" (1st edition, 2000; the later 2nd edition of this bibliography can be found in Reading Hume on Human Understanding, Oxford, 2002)

 

 

Philosphy Books Recently Added to the Blakley Library Collection

Click here for a list of philosophy books recently added to the Blakley Library collection.

 

Research Pathways

Welcome to the Philosophy subject guide.  This guide will direct you to the various resources available for research in philosophy.  Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information.  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips.  

Use the tabs above to find out more specific information about the various resources for philosophy.

For an overview and bibliiography of your topic consult the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy or the Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Looking for articles or online information? Try Full-text Journals or the Databases or Journals or Internet Resources tabs above.

Looking for books?  You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Print books on philosophy are located in the "B" section on the lower level of Blakley Library.  Below is a more detailed breakdown of subject areas:

B - Philosophy, general
B 69-99 - General works
B 108-5802 - By period (includes schools of philosophy and individual philosophers)
B 108-708 - Ancient
B 720-765 - Medieval
B 770-785 - Renaissance
B 790-5802 - Modern

BC - Logic

BD  - Speculative philosophy
BD 10-41 - General philosophical works
BD 95-131 - Metaphysics
BD 143-237 - Epistemology.  Theory of knowledge.
BD 240-260 - Methodology
BD 300-450 - Ontology
BD 493-701 - Cosmology

BH - Aesthetics

BJ - Ethics
BJ 71-1185 - History and general works (including individual ethical
         philosophers)

BJ 1188-1295 - Religious ethics
BJ 1298-1335 - Evolutionary and genetic ethics
BJ 1365-1385 - Positivist ethics
BJ 1388 - Socialist ethics
BJ 1390-1390.5 - Communist ethics
BJ 1392 - Totalitarian ethics
BJ 1395 - Feminist ethics
BJ 1518-1697 - Individual ethics.  Character.  Virtue (includes practical and
          applied ethics)

 

Other areas of interest include:

K 201-487 - Philosophy and theory of law
KB - Religious law
Q 174-175 - Philosophy and ethics of science
R 723-726 - Medical philosophy.  Medical ethics.

 

Philosophy Subject Guide

Need assistance in finding philosophy resources?  Contact Susan Vaughan, the Blakley Library philosophy subject specialist, svaughan@udallas.edu or 972-721-4130. 

Additionally, research assistance is available at the Blakley Library Help Desk, reflib@udallas.edu or 972-721-5315.

 

Search WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip