Where to Find Journal & Publisher Information, Author & Journal Impact, and Internet Resources
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new windowCabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities is for those who want to publish a manuscript. The index matches manuscripts to the topic areas that the journal emphasizes. It includes information on the journals' acceptance rates, publication guidelines, number of copies required, types of review process, the number of internal and external reviewers, time required for review and availability of reviewers' comments. The library subscribes to the Directories of Business, Education, and Psychology.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis service provides full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly, peer reviews journals in many subjects and languages. It includes academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. (Lund Universities/TexShare) Free Web Access
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new windowA directory from the Modern Language Association for periodicals indexed in MLA International Bibliography. Contains editorial addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency, scope, circulation, prices, and advertising & submission guidelines. (Ebsco - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
Magazines for Libraries by Call Number: Z 6941 .M23 2018 REFISBN: 9781600306693Publication Date: 2017-11-01Lists 6,500 magazines and journals commonly found in libraries, with contact information, description, and evaluative information.
There are various ways of measuring research impact, particularly through traditional means of publishing and citation. Before you begin to delve into the various citation metrics, we recommend you do the following:
Create a Google Scholar Citations Profile: Google scholar citations allows authors to track citations to their scholarly works and to calculate numerous citation metrics based on Google Scholar citation data. By setting up a profile, you will be able to disambiguate yourself from authors with the same or similar names.
- Get a ResearcherID with Web of KnowledgeA ResearcherID can be linked to your ORCID number and facilitates citation metrics and publication tracking using Web of Science tools. With a ResearcherID, you will be included in the Web of Knowledge author index allowing other researchers to learn more about your work and affiliations.
- Sign up for an ORCID IdentifierThe Open Researcher Community ID is an increasingly recognized persistent digital identifier. The unique number assigned to you will allow publishers and aggregators of scholarly literature to distinguish you from researchers with similar names. This is a powerful tool in author disambiguation and it takes just a few minutes to sign up.
An author's impact on their field or discipline has traditionally been measured using the number of times their academic publications are cited by other researchers. There are numerous algorithms, e.g. H-Index, G-Index, i10-Index, that account for such things as the currency of the publication, and poorly or highly cited papers. While citation metrics may reflect the impact of research in a field, there many more potential biases with these measurements and should be used with care. For a critique of author impact factors, read this article in Chronicle of Higher Education.
1. H-Index in Web of Science - used to quantify research output by measuring author productivity and impact.
H-Index = number of papers (h) with a citation number ≥ h. Example: A scientist with an H-Index of 37 has 37 papers cited at least 37 times.
Advantages of the H-Index
- Allows for direct comparisons within disciplines.
- Measures quantity and impact by a single value.
Disadvantages of the H-Index
- Does not give an accurate measure for early-career researchers.
- Calculated by using only articles that are indexed in Web of Science.
For additional information on H-Index, read - An index to quantity and individual's scientific research output an original paper by J.E. Hirsch proposing and describing the H-Index.
2. i10-Index - created by Google Scholar and used in Google's My Citations feature. It is a very simple measure that helps gauge the productivity of a scholar and is only used by Google Scholar.
i10Index = the number of publications with at least 10 citations.
Advantages of i10-Index
- Very simple and straightforward to calculate.
- My Citations in Google Scholar is free and easy to use.
Disadvantages of i10-Index
- Used only in Google Scholar.
Here is a screenshot of a Google Scholar My Citations page for Charles Darwin with the I-10 index highlighted in the small table.
3. G-Index
The G-Index was proposed by Leo Egghe in his paper Theory and Practice of the G-Index in 2006 as an improvement on the H-Index.
Advantages of the G-Index
- Accounts for the performance of author's top articles.
Disadvantages of the G-Index
- Introduced in 2006, and debate continues whether G-Index is superior to H-Index.
- May no be as widely accepted as H-Index.
Journal impact measurements reflect the importance of a particular journal in a field and take into account the number of articles published per year, as well as, the number of citation to articles published in that journal.
- EigenFactorEigenfactor.org® is an academic research project co-founded by Jevin West and Carl Bergstrom and sponsored by the Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washington. We aim to use recent advances in network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research. We are committed to broadly disseminating our research findings and technological developments, while respecting the confidentiality of the data sources we use. Several aspects of the Eigenfactor Project can be found at Eigenfactor.org (beta version).
- Google Scholar MetricsGoogle Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics allows authors to view journal rankings and ratings by various h-indices. Journal ranking can be viewed for the top 100 publications in 9 different languages, or by broad subject research areas and numerous subcategories.
- SCImago Journal & Country RankThe SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
The advent of social media and web analytics has opened the door to new possibilities in exploring and quantifying the impact a journal makes. Here are a few research resources that offer tools dealing with alternative metrics for evaluation of scholarly publications.
- Academia.eduAcademics use Academia.edu to share their research, monitor deep analytics around the impact of their research, and track the research of academics they follow. 2,208,281 academics have signed up to Academia.edu, adding 1,661,597 papers and 654,231 research interests. Academia.edu attracts over 3.9 million unique visitors a month.
- Altmetric PLoS Impact ExplorerThis page mashes up alt-metrics data from Altmetric with articles from the Public Library of Science (PLoS). Check which articles are seeing the most buzz from social media sites, newspapers and in online reference managers.
- CiteULikeCiteULike is a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references
- CWTS Journal IndicatorsLeiden University's Centre for Science and Technology Studies' (CWTS) Journal Indicators provides free access to the SNIP bibliometric indicators on scientific journals. The indicators have been calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) based on the Scopus bibliographic database produced by Elsevier. Indicators are available for over 20,000 journals indexed in the Scopus database.
- EigenFactorEigenfactor.org® is an academic research project co-founded by Jevin West and Carl Bergstrom and sponsored by the Bergstrom Lab in the Department of Biology at the University of Washington. We aim to use recent advances in network analysis and information theory to develop novel methods for evaluating the influence of scholarly periodicals and for mapping the structure of academic research. We are committed to broadly disseminating our research findings and technological developments, while respecting the confidentiality of the data sources we use. Several aspects of the Eigenfactor Project can be found at Eigenfactor.org (beta version).
- Google Scholar CitationsGoogle Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.
- MendeleyMendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
- SCImago Journal & Country RankThe SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.