Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Journalism Library Research Guide: Find Books

A guide to selected databases, journals, print, online, websites, news, and legal resources for journalism, mass media and communication

Shelf Browsing

Looking for Books?

You can find books by searching our online catalog or you may wish to browse the shelf. Shelf browsing allows you to discover items collated by subject. Below is a high level view of the classification system. KF is located on the 2nd floor of the library and P, PN are on the 3rd. 

  • P 87-96 - Communication, Mass media
  • PN 1990 - 1992.92 - Broadcasting, Radio and Television Broadcasts
  • PN 4699 - 5650 - Journalism, the periodicals press, etc.,Technique in newspaper publishing; Practical & amateur journalism.  
  • KF 4700 -  Journalism and law on freedom of speech

A few selected titles (online or in print), for more selected titles, see the Books Tab.

  • Encyclopedia of Journalism 6 vol. The six-volume Encyclopedia of Journalism will cover all significant dimensions of journalism including: print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The set will contain approximately 3,000 pages in all and approximately 350 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of leading editor Christopher Sterling of The George Washington University. Reference Collection Ref. PN 4728 .E48 2009
  • Taking journalism seriously : "objectivity" as a partisan cause by Richard H. Reeb, Jr. Published by University Press of America, 1999.   An attempt to locate the proper role of the mass media in American society. The author examines two of the more celebrated events in journalistic history--the New York Time's publishing of "The Pentagon Papers" and CBS News' airing of the documentary "The Selling of the Pentagon"--both of which appeared in 1971. He explores whether the journalistic practices of these events were merited, and proceeds to compare them with precedences set by Walter Lippman, James Reston, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, and Alexander Hamilton. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR.  Circulating Collection PN 4888 .O25 R44 1999 
  • The Encyclopedia of the First Amendment (2 vol.); published by CQ Press in 2009. This should help with information on Freedom of expression, freedom of the press, etc. Reference Collection Ref. KF4770 .E53 2009

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of journalism   REF PN 4728 .E48 2009 v. 1-6

History of the mass media in the United States : an encyclopedia   REF  P 92 .U5 H55 1998

Mass media : a chronological encyclopedia of television, radio, motion pictures, magazines, newspapers, and books in the United States  REF P 92 .U5 H77 1987

The Encyclopedia of American journalism  REF PN 4855 .P26 1983

The Associated Press stylebook and libel manual : including guidelines on photo captions, filing the wire, proofreaders' marks, copyright  REF PN 4783 .A83 1996

From talking drums to the Internet : an encyclopedia of communications technology   REF  P 96 .T42 G374 1997

Webster's New World dictionary of media and communications   REF  P87.5 .W45 1990

Journalism : a guide to the reference literature  REF  Z6940.C38 1990

eBooks

eBooks are resources read online. Some sources allow you to download the item, such as Project Gutenberg, whereas others have an internal reader

eBooks from EBSCO on Journalism

Selected Print Books

General
The new precision journalism  PN 4784 .E5 M49 1991
An introduction to journalism; authoritative views on the profession PN4724 .M9
Objectivity, communication, and the foundation of understanding  PN4784.O24 M35 1994
Megamedia : how giant corporations dominate mass media, distort competition, and endanger democracy  P 90 .E25 A44 1998
Libel and the First Amendment : legal history and practice in print and broadcasting  KF 1266 .L3 1989
Freedom of the press 2003 : a global survey of media independence  PN 4736 .F74 2003

Editing
The art of editing PN4778.B3 1986
Editing fact and fiction : a concise guide to book editing  PN 162 .S4435 1994
Guide to technical editing : discussion, dictionary, and exercises  T 11.4 .E38 1992
The elements of editing : a modern guide for editors and journalists PN 162 .P55 1984

Reporting/Writing
Writing to deadline : the journalist at work  PN 4775 .M84 2000
Writing from sources  PE 1478 .S65 2003
Writing for newspapers and news services PN4775 .H38

Broadcast Journalism
Television news reporting PN4784.T4 C6
Media unbound : the impact of television journalism on the public  PN4888.T4 L44 1982
Regulating broadcast programming  HE 8689.8 .K73 1994

History of American Journalism
The Media in America : a history  P 92 .U5 M425 1989
The press and America : an interpretive history of the mass media   PN 4855 .E6 1996
The rise and fall of the media establishment  P 95.82 .U6 W46 2001
Mass media between the wars : perceptions of cultural tension, 1918-1941   P92.U5 M285 1984  
History of American journalism  PN4802 .L3 1923
Printers and press freedom : the ideology of early American journalism  KF 4774 .S64 1988

Media Ethics
Media ethics : in the newsroom and beyond  P94 .F48 1988
Image ethics : the moral rights of subjects in photographs, film, and television  
KF 1263 .U5 I45 1988
Groping for ethics in journalism  PN4888.E8 G66 1987
Teaching ethics in journalism education PN4756 .C47

 

 

Catalog Quick Search

Catalog Quick Search

Search books, periodicals, and other resources in the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library

Advanced Search | Reserve Search