LibGuides: Government Documents: Databases

Databases Containing Government Documents

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

An interface to access to the National Agricultural Library database. It includes the same coverage as the web version with linking to other sources. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account. AGRICOLA is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
From the U. S. Department of Commerce, the BEA provides timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data of the U.S. economy. A source for research, methodology, and statistics. (BEA)
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)! The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Also try their federated search engine MetaLib to retrieve reports, articles and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases.
Census Online
A database of U.S. census with topics of people: estimates & projections; business: NAICS & foreign trade; geography: maps & TIGER; newsroom: economic indicators. (Dept. of Commerce)
CheckPoint
Contains access to federal court case records and rulings along with federal regulations and codes.
Congress.gov Current Legislation (formerly THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet))
The Library of Congress provides this highly regarded database on federal legislative information. It contains the Congressional Record, bills passed by the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, and biographical data.
Copyright Office Online
The U.S. government and Library of Congress bring helpful information from how to's, legal issues, and hot topics about copyright. Contains circulars and brochures in selected full text. (U.S. Copyright Office)
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service provides full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly, peer reviews journals in many subjects and languages. It includes academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. (Lund Universities/TexShare) Free Web Access
EDGAR
Indexes reports of public companies, domestic & foreign, who have filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. (SEC) Free Web Access

ERIC (EBSCO)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, this database contains articles from journals and documents in education literature. It has a user-friendly search interface and links to other databases. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account.

Find Law
Contains both federal and state cases, codes, and directories, and other legal information. (Thomson)

GreenFILE

This index is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. It covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It's extensive sources include abstracts and Open Access full text. (EBSCO) Free Web Access. GreenFILE is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Heritage Quest Online

Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and provides a source of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. (Proquest - TexShare). Heritage Quest Online is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas, through support provided by TexShare.
Legal Collection

Contains information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account. Legal Collection is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Military and Government Collection

Provides selected full text articles for over 320 military-related periodicals and general interest magazines. (EBSCO) Off Campus Access with University Network Account. Military and Government Collection is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) provides numeric and descriptive terms for the industry in Canada, Mexico & U.S. It cross references the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). (Dept. of Commerce) Free Web Access
Nexis Uni

Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Some articles are full-text. (LexisNexis - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account. Nexis Uni is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn maps, originally created for fire insurance information, provides detailed historical details about Texas cities, towns, and neighborhoods. (Proquest - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account. Texas Digital Sanborn Maps is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Texas Reference Center

Includes information on Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, home & garden, sports and leisure, and biographies of historical and contemporary Texans. Also provides the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account. Texas Reference Center is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
TOPICsearch

A current events database which allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in todays classrooms. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account. TOPICsearch is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.