Skip to Main Content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Trouble Shooting Database Access: Common Problems and Solutions

This is a guide to troubleshooting problems with access to databases through the University of Dallas Cowan-Blakely Memorial Library.

Problems Logging In

The library's research databases are accessible to current University of Dallas students, faculty, and staff. When logging in, make sure you are using your UD network ID and password. These should be the same login ID and password you use to login to your UD email account. Don't enter your entire email address - only the part before the @ symbol. For example, if your email address is jsmith@udallas.edu, the username you enter should be 'jsmith.'

login window

If you are still unable to login, you should contact Information Technology Services at support@udallas.edu to have your password reset.

Library Contact Information

Phone: 972.721.5315

Email: reference@udallas.edu

Text: 972.325.5336

Problems with Browsers

Try a different browser

If you are using Internet Explorer, try Firefox, Chrome or Safari (on Macs). You might also try upgrading to the most current version of the browser you’re using.

Clear your browser history

In some cases it can help to clear your browser history/cache.

  • Internet Explorer: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History > Delete
  • Firefox: History > Clear Recent History > Time Range="Everything" > Clear Now
  • Chrome: Toolbar Wrench Icon > Tools > Clear Browsing Data > Clear Browsing Data
  • Safari: History > Clear History > Clear

Adjust your browser’s security settings

In some cases your browser's security settings may be preventing the page from being displayed.

Problems with Databases

Bookmarking the database or article
 
Don't bookmark the database or article after you log in. It may not work if you try to use the same URL again later.
 

Can't access any databases 

It may be a problem with your login credentials or other computer settings.  Contact the library so we can investigate the issue.

Can't access databases from one publisher 

For example, if you can’t get into any EBSCO databases, but can get into other databases, it could be a problem with the publisher. Contact the library so we can investigate the issue.

Can't access one particular database 

That database may be experiencing downtime. Try other databases to see if they are working. If you can get into other databases, but just not one particular database, contact the library so we can investigate the issue.

Reporting problems

When reporting a problem with accessing databases, try to provide as much information as possible. Screenshots of error messages are particularly helpful. 

Questions for reporting problems with databases:

  • Which username and password are you using to login?
  • Have you previously been able to login to the database?
  • What is the error message that you get? Can you send a screenshot?
  • How are you accessing the database? e.g., the library's website? a bookmark? Google or another search engine?
  • Which Internet browser are you using? Chrome? Firefox? Explorer? etc.

Questions for reporting problems with e-books?

  • Did you access it from the catalog or from a database? Which database did you use to access the book?

  • What is the error message that you get? Can you send a screenshot?

Library Contact Information

Phone: 972.721.5315

Email: reference@udallas.edu

Text: 972.325.5336