Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bets for Finding Articles
America: History and Life Full Text
An authoritative index for resources in U. S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers book reviews, collections, dissertations, journals, and various media. Full text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.. (EBSCO - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
JSTOR is a database with many full-text articles in a variety of subject areas taught at UD. It can be especially helpful for literature, philosophy, history, and religion but for other subject areas as well. However, all JSTOR articles are at least three years old, and often older, so it is not the best place to find the most current research.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is an excellent place to start research for many assignments. In this database, you will find many academic articles in a wide variety of subject areas, including arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Historical Abstracts has expanded to include selected full text; some articles remain in index form and some are linked. It includes the worlds scholarly literature in history (excludes the United States and Canada) from 1450 to present. Searches journals, book reviews, collections, dissertations, and media. (EBSCO - Direct)
Bibliography of Native North Americans
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. It covers topics such as archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy from the sixteenth century to the present. It contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
Military and Government Collection
Provides selected full text articles for over 320 military-related periodicals and general interest magazines. (EBSCO - TexShare) Off Campus Access with University Network Account
Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Finding Print Books
Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf. Print books are located in the "C to F" sections on the lower level and second floor of the library. Below is a high level view of the classification system. Clicking on the letters will open a more detailed description. Because history can be interdisciplinary, some books you need may be in a different section, like the religion section (Bs) for religious history, the art section (Ns) for art history, or the science section (Qs) for history of science and so on. Please ask a librarian if you need help locating books.
- C to CT - General History
- D to DX - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, etc.
- E to F - History of America and the United States
Finding Electronic Books
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
e-Book Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format (formerly NetLibrary). Establish an account within the database to save information for future use. (EBSCO - TexShare)