Get Started
This guide is specially tailored to help with Biology related research. Here, you will find recommended databases, books, and journals, in addition to resources for finding more.
If you need further help, feel free to email the Reference Desk any time at reference@udallas.edu, or call us at 972-721-5315.
- Brainstorm with a Concept MapA mind map is a graphical representation of ideas and concepts. It's a visual thinking tool for structuring information, helping you to better understand, remember and generate new ideas.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service made up of a vast number of encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Credo Reference is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Find Sources
- Tipasa Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
- UD DiscoverySearches many UD Library resources at the same time.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database with many full-text articles in a variety of subject areas taught at UD. It can be especially helpful for literature, philosophy, history, and religion but for other subject areas as well. However, all JSTOR articles are at least three years old, and often older, so it is not the best place to find the most current research. JSTOR is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
- ProQuest Group Databases This link opens in a new window
Searches all Proquest databases received through our subscription. Useful for a wide variety of subjects, including Modern Languages, Psychology, and more. Remote Access with University Network Account. ProQuest Group Databases is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Search Strategy
- Using Boolean "AND" Searching
- Using Boolean "OR" Searching
- Using Boolean "NOT" Searching
Annotated Bibliographies
- CSUN Annotated Bibliography GuideA thorough guide that explains annotated bibliographies from start to finish, with examples in different citation formats.
- Bibliography.comThis website has both an explanation of what an annotated bibliography is and suggestions for how to write one.
- OWL Purdue GuideThe trusty OWL Purdue guide's webpage for annotated bibliographies, with detailed examples for different citation styles.