Art and Art History Library Research Guide: Find Websites

The Carter's research facilities include a library of over 150,000 items, archives with both institutional and private papers, and a Study Room where you can view artwork up close.

The Mildred R. and Frederick M. Mayer Library is the DMA's research library, and collects and provides access to art resources that support research on the DMA's global collection and special exhibitions.

The Library's collection consists of 50,000 books, 6,000 bound periodicals, with current subscriptions to 100 periodicals and 14,000 auction catalogues.
The microform collection includes nearly 23,000 microfiche, including the Witt Library Collection, the Deloynes Collection, and out-of-print titles.

The MAC is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that stands as a Dallas advocate for creative freedom, offering the opportunity for experimentation and presentation of art in all disciplines. It supports the emerging and established artist’s role in society by providing a forum for critical dialogue with their audiences.

Since 2010, Markowicz Fine Art Gallery has showcased an array of established international artists such as Andy Warhol, Tom Wesselman, Damien Hirst and Fernando Botero in addition to emerging artists with exceptional creative talent such as Idan Zareski, Carole Feuerman, Metis Atash and progressive street artist, Kai.

The Masterworks Collection is a rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.

The Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth is a leader in collecting, showing, and interpreting art from the 1940s to the present.

The Museum of Geometric and MADI Art is the first museum with a concentration on MADI art, which is always non-representational, hard-edged, and comes out of the frame.

The Museum of Biblical Art celebrates and interprets art related to the Bible and its cultural legacy in Jewish and Christian traditions, including the work of artists like Jorge Cocco, Alexander McQueen Duncan, and Andy Warhol.

The Nasher Sculpture Center is home to one of the finest collections of modern and contemporary sculptures in the world, the Raymond and Patsy Nasher Collection, featuring more than 300 masterpieces by Calder, de Kooning, di Suvero, Giacometti, Hepworth, Kelly, Matisse, Miró, Moore, Picasso, Rodin, Serra and more.

Western Gallery curates distinct perspectives of the American West, from abstract to photorealistic and classic to contemporary, and frequently hosts online exhibitions.