Get Started
This guide is tailored to help you find resources for History 1311 and 1312. Each tab highlights different resources to help you research the works studied in these classes.
Utilize the Boolean operators detailed in the graph on the right in your searches to optimize results. Tipasa Interlibrary Loan, linked below, can be used to access any books not in our collections. Also linked below is the homepage to RefWorks, where you can create a free account with your UD credentials. RefWorks will create citations for you, and keep them organized in one place. Below the Search Strategies is a box with resources for Annotated Bibliographies.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service made up of a vast number of encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. Credo Reference is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Find Sources
- Tipasa Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
- UD DiscoverySearches many UD Library resources at the same time.
Cite Your Sources
- OWL at Purdue MLA Style GuideThe Online Writing Lab at Purdue University has some good resources for learning about MLA guidelines, including an example paper and example citations.
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online reference and bibliography center that creates, stores, and organizes citations. Create a free RefWorks account using your University of Dallas email address.
- UD Online Writing LabThis is a link to the UD Online Writing Lab, which assists students with the process of academic writing.
Search Strategy
- Using Boolean "AND" Searching
- Using Boolean "OR" Searching
- Using Boolean "NOT" Searching
Annotated Bibliography
The following websites will provide examples and easy to follow steps for creating an annotated bibliography.
- CSUN Annotated Bibliography GuideA thorough guide that explains annotated bibliographies from start to finish, with examples in different citation formats.
- Bibliography.comThis website has both an explanation of what an annotated bibliography is and suggestions for how to write one.
- OWL Purdue GuideThe trusty OWL Purdue guide's webpage for annotated bibliographies, with detailed examples for different citation styles.