Business Subect Librarian Liaison
Searching for Books?
Let's get started!
- Are you looking for BOOKS and want to browse the shelves? Circulating print books are located in the "T" section on the third floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. Reference books are located on the first floor to the left of the circulation desk.
- The Books page refers you to selected information management books, both online and print. These may be found online, in circulating books, or the reference section. Reference books must be used inside the library and cannot be checked out. Circulating books may be checked out for a three-week period.
- If you cannot find the book on the shelf but it is in our catalog, place a hold on it and you will be notified when it is available.
- Need it quicker? Search using Worldcat and request it through Interlibrary Loan.
The Subject Heading for Information Management tab lists a few examples of subject headings relevant to Information Management that may prove helpful when conducting a search. The Call Numbers tab will point you to the correct range for the location and for your browsing pleasure. Is it a Scholarly Book or Article? tab provides basic tips on how to decide if an item is scholarly. Check out the Selected Print Books and Selected Electronic Books tabs to discover a few of the most relevant information management titles in our collection.
At the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library, whether print or electronic, books can be found in the online catalog, UD Discovery, or Full-text Finder. Many eBooks can also be downloaded.
Here are a few examples of subject headings relevant to Information Management that may prove helpful when conducting a search:
- Database management
- Digital libraries
- Electronic information resources
- Knowledge management
- Information literacy
- Information resources management
- Information retrieval
- Information services
- Information technology
- Intellectual capital
- Management information systems
Information Management is classified by the Library of Congress as Subclass T - Technology. Titles relevant to information management can be found in the T 58.5 - 58.64 range.
T 58.5-58.64 Information technology
T 58.6-58.62 Management information systems
Additional call numbers to browse include:
HD 28-70 Management
When browsing the shelves or online, be careful of your source. Use filters to refine the search to scholarly to ensure the information is valid and scholarly.
How to determine whether it is a scholarly book or article:
Look for the clues:
![[(Jan Kromer “Magnifying glass”, CC Licence: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jankroemer/285835148/)]](http://farm1.static.flickr.com/99/285835148_dfe47e1a43_t.jpg "[(Jan Kromer “Magnifying glass”, CC Licence: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jankroemer/285835148/)]")
Clue 1: Specialized publisher in the field: For example, a university press.
Clue 2: Reputable author/creator: Look for the authors' qualifications.
Clue 3: Includes cited references and a bibliography.
Connecting the Dots: Aligning Projects with Objectives in Unpredictable Times HD 30.28 .B4536
Ethics of Information Management HM 221 .M297
Handbook of IS management REF T 58 .H 342
Information Systems Management in Practice T 58.64 .I54
Information Systems: Management Practices in Action; A Collection of Management Situations T 58.6 .W97
The Digital Enterprise: How to Reshape your Business for a Connected World HD 30.2 .D53
The Oxford Handbook of Information and Communication Technologies HM 851 .O98
Mastering Global Markets: Strategies for Today's Trade Globalist HF 1416 .C9555
Mission Critical: Realizing the Promise of Enterprise Systems HD 30.213 .D38
An ebook is a digital book. At heart it functions just like a traditional print book, but it can be enhanced with technology to make it connected and interactive.
Ebooks are accessed through the internet and read using computers, tablets, smartphones or ereaders.
- eBook CollectionFormerly known as NetLibrary, this database is a collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format. Establish an account within the database to save information for future use.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004From the University of California, the eScholarship Editions collection includes almost 2000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. (Univ. of CA) Free Web Access
Managing IT Skills Portfolios by Call Number: T 58.64 .M357 2005 E-BOOKISBN: 1591405157This book covers planning, acquisition and performance evaluation for the IT workforce at the firm level.
- Gale Directory LibraryIncludes several reference resources: Encyclopedia of Busniess Information Resources, Encyclopedia of Associations, Market Share Reporter, National Faculty Directory, and Wards Business Directory. Need University Network Account for remote access
The Oxford handbook of information and communication technologies by Call Number: HM 851 .O98ISBN: 0199266239This book is organized around four themes: knowledge economy; organizational dynamics, strategy, and design; governance and democracy; and culture, community and new media literacy.