Business Subject Librarian Liaison
Databases
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a top database for finding research articles on many business topics including: accounting, finance, industries, international business, and management. It includes peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, company profiles, and more. Another useful database for finding business articles and information is is ABI Inform. Business Source Complete is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
-
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. Its broad scope includes statistics, classics, definitions, articles in journals, and maps. (Britannica - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account. Encyclopaedia Britannica is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
-
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text articles for over 320 military-related periodicals and general interest magazines. (EBSCO) Off Campus Access with University Network Account. Military and Government Collection is provided by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library through operating funds provided by the University of Dallas.
Many library databases and Web search engines support Boolean searches. Boolean searching is based on combinations of keywords that are connected by operators. There are three basic operators: AND, OR, and NOT. These operators are used to limit, widen or define the search strategy.
The Boolean operator AND retrieves every document that contains both of the words specified. Combining search terms with AND in a search narrows the search results, thus retrieving more specific results. To locate information on bell related to chime topics use the search terms:
bell AND chime
Search processes retrieve every record containing both words belland chime. More combinations may be added to narrow the search, such as bell AND chime AND tone.
The Boolean operator OR broadens a search to include documents which have either keyword. OR is also used when there are common synonyms for a concept or variant spelling of a word. To find information on heart attack use:
heart attack OR stroke
All documents containing either term heart attack or stroke, or both terms heart attack and stroke will be retrieved, which may result in a large numbers of documents.
The Boolean operator NOT narrows a search by excluding unwanted terms. NOT eliminates records or documents containing the second search term. To find information on life but not support use:
life NOT support
The search results in documents with the keyword life and excludes the term support.