Get Started
This guide is tailored to help you find resources for English 1302: Literary Traditions II. Each tab highlights different resources to help you research the works studied in this class.
Utilize the Boolean operators detailed in the graph on the right in your searches to optimize results. Tipasa Interlibrary Loan, linked below, can be used to access any books not in our collections. Also linked below is the homepage to RefWorks, where you can create a free account with your UD credentials. RefWorks will create citations for you, and keep them organized in one place.
Find Sources
- Tipasa Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
- UD DiscoverySearches many UD Library resources at the same time.
Cite Your Sources
- OWL at Purdue MLA Style GuideThe Online Writing Lab at Purdue University has some good resources for learning about MLA guidelines, including an example paper and example citations.
- RefWorksRefWorks is an online reference and bibliography center that creates, stores, and organizes citations. Create a free RefWorks account using your University of Dallas email address.
- UD Online Writing LabThis is a link to the UD Online Writing Lab, which assists students with the process of academic writing.
Annotated Bibliography
The following websites will provide examples and easy to follow steps for creating an annotated bibliography.
- CSUN Annotated Bibliography GuideA thorough guide that explains annotated bibliographies from start to finish, with examples in different citation formats.
- Bibliography.comThis website has both an explanation of what an annotated bibliography is and suggestions for how to write one.
- OWL Purdue GuideThe trusty OWL Purdue guide's webpage for annotated bibliographies, with detailed examples for different citation styles.
Search Strategy
Boolean operators are a handy tool that can widen or narrow the range of your results. These can be used in any database or catalog with an Advanced Search, and multiple operators can be utilized in one search.
- Using Boolean "AND" Searching
Using AND in between two keywords in a search will produce results that have both terms in their titles, authors, abstracts, or subject. For example, searching "Homer" AND "The Odyssey" will only give you results that have mentions of both Homer and The Odyssey in their details. This is helpful for doing focused searches.
- Using Boolean "OR" Searching
Using OR in between keywords in a search will produce results that have either term in their titles, authors, abstracts, or subjects. For example, searching "Virgil" OR "The Aeneid" will return results of items that have either of those terms. This is handy for doing wide range searches at the beginning of your research.
- Using Boolean "NOT" Searching
Using NOT in an advanced search in between two or more keywords will exclude the keyword following NOT. NOT is also great to use in conjunction with other Boolean operators. For example, if you are searching for The Odyssey by Homer and do not want results on The Iliad, you can use advanced search for "Homer" AND "The Odyssey" NOT "The Iliad." This will produce results that are specifically about the Odyssey and Homer, and will filter out all mentions of The Iliad.