Skip to Main Content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Management

This guide is comprised of both library and Internet resources recommended for finding information about Management. All types of material, including articles from journals and chapters from books, can be found using this guide.

Databases

This page identifies the databases that the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library subscribes to. It is a great place to find articles relating to management. Specialized databases have a high subject content while the related general database tab contains multiple disciplines in varying measures. Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless device. 

The tutorials below will help refine your database search techniques.

Many library databases and Web search engines support Boolean searches.  Boolean searching is based on combinations of keywords that are connected by operators.  There are three basic operators: AND, OR, and NOT. These operators are used to limit, widen or define the search strategy.

The Boolean operator AND retrieves every document that contains both of the words specified. Combining search terms with AND in a search narrows the search results, thus retrieving more specific results. To locate information on bell related to chime topics use the search terms:  

bell AND chime

Search processes retrieve every record containing both words belland chime.  More combinations may be added to narrow the search, such as bell AND chime AND tone.

The Boolean operator OR broadens a search to include documents which have either keyword.  OR is also used when there are common synonyms for a concept or variant spelling of a word.  To find information on heart attack use:

heart attack OR stroke

All documents containing either term heart attack or stroke, or both terms heart attack and stroke will be retrieved, which may result in a large numbers of documents.

The Boolean operator NOT narrows a search by excluding unwanted terms. NOT eliminates records or documents containing the second search term. To find information on life but not support use:

 life NOT support

The search results in documents with the keyword life and excludes the term support.

Wildcards are often represented by the question mark ? or the pound sign #. 

? = unknown letter

# = alternate spelling

Examples:

Analysis 

Analyses

Search suggestion: analys?s

Color

Colour

Search suggestion: colo#r

The asterisk symbol * is often used to take into account various endings of words. Start with the root of the word and then add the * at the end.

Analysis

Analyses

Analyze

Analyse  

Analytical              

Search suggestion: analy*

Hypermeter

Hypermetre

Hypermetric

Hypermetrical

Hyptermetriques

Search suggestion: hypermet*

Common proximity terms

NEAR: finds two words in any order within the range you specify

WITH: finds two words in the exact order within the range you specify

Examples:

Brahms N5 hypermeter
This means you want to find the terms Brahms and hypermeter within 5 words of each other in any order.

Brahms W5 hypermeter
This means you want to find the terms Brahms and hypermeter within 5 words of each in that exact word order.

Be sure to check the Search Tips in the database you choose. You may need to use N/5 or W/5.

Often the Advanced Search box will have this as as an option in a drop-down menu next to the search box.

Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.

Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030