Books
Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf. Print books are located in the "H" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library with the "HF", "HG" and "HJ" subclass call numbers directing you those books typically associated with finance and accounting.
Full-text books may also be found in several of our databases. Use UD Discovery to meta-search across of most items (not everything) that Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library has, including books, articles, etc.
- UD DiscoverySearches many UD Library resources at the same time.
Accounting demystified by Call Number: HF 5635 .H112 2004 E-BOOK in NetLibraryISBN: 0814407900Summarizes the essential mechanics of financial accounting.
Effective Writing: A Handbook for Accountants by Call Number: HF 5719 .M375 2006ISBN: 9780131496811Publication Date: 2005-03-01Discusses the communication, both written and oral, actually done by professional accountants. It uses real-world accounting situations and includes major sections on communication strategies, business documents, and oral communication.
Making Globalization Work by Call Number: HF 1359 .S753 2007ISBN: 9780393330281Joseph E. Stiglitz offers here an agenda of inventive solutions to our most pressing economic, social, and environmental challenges, with each proposal guided by the fundamental insight that economic globalization continues to outpace both the political structures and the moral sensitivity required to ensure a just and sustainable world.
Accountant's Handbook Ref HF 5621 .A22
Annual Statement Studies Ref HF 5681 .B2 R6
Dictionary of Banking Terms Ref HG 151 .F57 note - also available online
Dictionary of Insurance Terms Ref HG 8025 .R83 2000 note - also available online
A Financial History of the United States Ref HG 181 .M297
Handbook of Insurance Ref HG 8061 .H36 2000
The "How To" Grants Manual, Successful Grant Seeking Techniques... Ref HG 177 .B38
International Directory of Company Histories Ref HD 2721 .I63
Mutual Fund Fact Book Ref HG 4930 .M85
Proposal Planning and Writing Ref HG 177.5 .U6 M56
Standard Industrial Classification Manual 1987 Ref HA 40 .I6 U63
Statistical Abstract of the United States Ref HA 202 .U5
Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation: SBBI Yearbook HG 4501 .S7949
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004From the University of California, the eScholarship Editions collection includes almost 2000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. (Univ. of CA) Free Web Access
- E-Book Collection (EBSCO)eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) contains a collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format. To save information for future use sign up for an EBSCOhost account. If assistance is needed contact the Reference Desk (972-721-5315).
The Library of Congress Classification System for Commerce, Accounting, and Finance books is found in subclass HF, HG, and HJ. Please see the detailed listing below of the most common call numbers. You will find circulating books by browsing the shelf in the "HF, HG, and HJ" sections located on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. The Reference section is located on the first floor to the left of circulation, reference book use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books, however, they must be used within the Library.
HF
1-6182..........Commerce
5601-5689..........Accounting. Bookkeeping
5691-5716..........Business mathematics. Commercial arithmetic including tables, etc.
HG
1-9999..........Finance
- 178.......... Liquidity
- 179..........Personal finance
- 201-1496..........Money
- 1501-3550..........Banking
- 1706-1708.......... Accounting. Bookkeeping
- 3691-3769..........Credit. Debt. Loans
- 3810-4000..........Foreign exchange. International finance. International monetary system
- 4001-4285.......... Finance management. Business finance. Corporation finance
- 4301-4480.9........Trust services. Trust companies
- 4501-6051...........Investment, capital formation, speculation
HJ
9-9940..........Public finance.
9701-9940..........Public accounting. Auditing