*/ Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Economics

This guide assists the Economics student and faculty researcher. It provides a starting point for research, identifies library resources, and highlights additional internet resources.

Recommended Internet Resources

There is a lot of information freely available on the Internet.  Some websites offer up-to-date, authoritative information while others offer outdated, misunderstood, and incorrect information.  To complicate matters, it can be very difficult to tell the two apart.  It is important to keep in mind that anyone can publish information on the Internet. You need to be very careful about evaluating information found on the Web, judging each website on its information merit, not just its looks.

Remember to keep in mind the information timeline when researching articles. Get more information below:

Below is a selected list of journals available through a website. Many of them are published by Regional Federal Reserve Banks. Selecting the title will take you directly to the site.

California counts Published by the Public Policy Institute of California.

Economic Insights  (Federal Reserve Bank Philadelphia) Features nontechnical articles on monetary policy, banking, and national, regional, and international economics, all written for a wide audience.Topics covered include economic policy, banking, and financial and regional economics

FRBSF Economic Review An annual summary of Department research plus in-depth policy article.

Inflation report (London, England) The Bank's quarterly Inflation Report was first published in 1993. The Report sets out the detailed economic analysis and inflation projections on which the Bank's Monetary Policy Committee bases its interest rate decisions, and presents an assessment of the prospects for UK inflation.

Journal of Consumer Affairs Since 1953, the American Council on Consumer Interests (ACCI) has been--and remains today--the leading membership organization for academics and other professionals involved in consumer and family economics research, consumer advocacy, protection, and policy development. The ACCI Headquarters Office is in Evansville, Indiana.

Monthly digest of statistics (London, England) An important reference work containing the latest monthly and quarterly business, economic and social data.

NBER reporter Published by the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Regional economist A quarterly publication that addresses national and regional economic issues and their impact on the Eighth District. (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)

Review - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Southwest economy The Texas, New Mexico and Louisiana economies are constantly changing. The information and data the Dallas Fed publishes in Southwest Economy can help keep you current with agriculture, banking, energy, high technology, manufacturing and international trade in this region. Published quarterly.

  • Central Bank Websites A list of links to the websites of central banks (U.S. Federal reserve, Deutsche Bundesbank, etc.) from the Bank for International Settlements. Many of these have free online access to statistical publications and working papers.
  • Economics Search Engine
    ESE uses Google to search the contents of more than 23,000 economics websites. They come from RFE, home pages reported by economists in RePEc Author Services, and EDIRC. A Google Custom Search Engine searches these pages. (free web access)
  • Groningen Growth and Development Center A platform for research on economic growth and development; it is largely based on a range of comprehensive databases on indicators of growth and development. (free web access)
  • National Bureau of Economic Research
    Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their full-text archive of working papers covers 1973-present. (free web access)
  • globalEDGE
    Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Provides profiles, current news articles, and many helpful links for each country. (free web access)
  • History of Economics Society Resources
    HES seeks to promote interest in the history of economics, to facilitate communication among scholars in the field, and to disseminate contemporary scholarship. See Bibliometric Platform a web application that allows you to explore the specialty structure of economics from the late 1950s to 2014. The representation is based on a network of all publications in economics journals as indexed in the – a total of more than 400,000 documents. (free web access)
  • Ludwig von Mises Institute
    The Ludwig von Mises Institute, founded in 1982 as the research and educational center of classical liberalism, libertarian political theory, and the Austrian School of Economics. (free web access)
  • Resources for Economists on the Internet
    This site is sponsored by the American Economic Association, and it includes links to over 2000 resources, categorized in 97 sections and sub-sections, of interest to academic and practicing economists. (free web access)
  • Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
    This site provides various documents and reports on globalization issues. It is an excellent source for research on different globalization topics and issues. (free web access)
  • IDEAS (RePEc)
    IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database available freely on the Internet, dedicated to economics. It provides access to RePEc, a collaborative database of working papers, journal articles, and software components. (free web access)
  • Economic Indicators
    Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly compilation is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance. (free web access)
  • American Fact Finder United States Census Bureau - economic indicators. (free web access)
  • CIA World Factbook Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
  • Internet Public Library - Business & Economics The Internet Public Library is a public service organization dedicated to providing free online help for research. The Business & Economics section covers the realms of commerce and industry, the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services and the management of economic systems. (free web access)
  • Library of Economics & Liberty Dedicated to advancing the study of economics, markets, and liberty, EconLib offers resources for students, teachers, researchers, and aficionados of economic thought. (free we access)
  • RFE: Resources for Economists Guide sponsored by the American Economic Association that lists over 2,000 resources of interest to academics, practicing economists, and those interested in economics. (free web access)
  • WWW Virtual Library - Business & Economics The WWW Virtual Library is the oldest catalog of the Web. The Business & Economics section provides links to resources on many topics, including economics, economic and business history, finance, marketing, labor history, and micro-credit. (free web access)
Loading ...