LibGuides: English & Literature Library Research Guide: Find Articles

English Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an excellent database to research for English courses that require you to find literary criticism. It is also useful for doing research for modern languages that are taught at UD: Italian, French, German and Spanish. MLA International Bibliography also contains many full-text articles that you can access immediately.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database with many full-text articles in a variety of subject areas taught at UD. It can be especially helpful for literature, philosophy, history, and religion but for other subject areas as well. However, all JSTOR articles are at least three years old, and often older, so it is not the best place to find the most current research.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature brings together Gale literary databases to allow researchers, faculty, and students to search across the variety of resources.
Literary Reference Center (LRC) This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center™ is a select full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals. It contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, author biographies and in-depth bios, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, classic texts, and 460 literary journals. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Online access to recent editions of Contemporary Literary Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism, 19th Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism, and Short Story Criticism. Critical analyses are about authors through the ages of literature derived from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, & newspapers. (Gale - Direct) Remote Access - University Network Account

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1962 and 2006. Includes over 110,000 annotated entries from books, articles, dissertations, theatrical productions, audiovisual materials, and electronic media. (Johns Hopkins Press - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot This link opens in a new window
The Complete Prose of T. S. Eliot gathers for the first time in one place the collected, uncollected, and unpublished prose of one of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century. This eight-volume critical edition dramatically expands access to material that has been restricted or inaccessible in private and institutional collections for almost fifty years. (Johns-Hopkins- Direct)

Twentieth Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the works of most major 20th century poets, from the traditionalists to the modernists. It covers major movements and schools, including the New School, the Southern School, the Confessionals, the Beats, and the Black Mountain Poets. 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Twentieth Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to 2000, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy.

Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Find the biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
The Year's Work in English Studies This link opens in a new window
The Year's Work in English Studies is a best bet bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. Each volume includes a detailed overview from Old English to contemporary critical works for a given year, and contains critical notices for some 1100 books; extensive coverage of English Language, American Literature, New Literatures in English and English Literature; coverage of specialist periodicals; comprehensive indexing by critic, author, and subject; plus bibliographical endnotes for each chapter.
Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
The Short Story Index contains information on short stories by author or genre. It provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 stories from over 4,200 collections and anthologies. (EBSCO/Wilson) Remote Access with University Network Account
Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements. (Gale - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 Scribner print series. (Gale - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
ECCO is a nearly comprehensive collection of the works published in the English language (and non-English language works printed in the United Kingdom) during the eighteenth century. It contains approximately 180,000 books, with 33,000,000 pages. ECCO covers the full spectrum of intellectual activity in the century: literature, history, geography, law, science, medicine, technology, the fine arts, religion, philosophy, political science and government. Additional features include a chronology of the century, direct links to a series of key documents in several fields, and image galleries.
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Spanning the entire range of the humanities and social sciences, the Essay and General Literature Index cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada dating back to 1985. (EBSCO/Wilson) Remote Access with University Network Account