Psychology Library Research Guide: Find Books

This encyclopedia is the definitive resource for all students, teachers and researchers of social psychology eager to know more about a particular phenomenon, concept, or theory. Each key topic is addressed by internationally recognized authorities, making the encyclopedia both comprehensive and authoritative.

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.

Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.

An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.

The first to integrate psychology and religion in the context of modern social and behavioral sciences, Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion continues to offer a rich contribution to the development of human self-understanding. This reference work provides a definitive and intellectually rigorous collection of psychological interpretations of the stories, rituals, motifs, symbols, doctrines, dogmas, and experiences of the world's religious and mythological traditions. A broad range of psychological approaches are used in order to help readers understand the form and content of religious experience as well as offer insight into the meanings of religious symbols and themes.

The term multicultural psychology has become commonplace in our field during the past decade; nevertheless, it is essential to start with a discussion of what multicultural means in this handbook. In the United States, multicultural psychology has referred to both international and domestic multiculturalism, with the former usually labeled as cross-cultural psychology and cultural psychology and the latter as racial and ethnic minority psychology.--Author

Suitable for every level of interest, the new edition of the Dictionary contains more than 20,000 terms in psychology, broadly defined, including psychiatry, psychoanalysis, neurology, psychopharmacology, biochemistry, endocrinology, and related fields. Covering recent developments and discoveries, each item of the Dictionary has been carefully examined, and numerous items have been revised and added.

The Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology presents a comprehensive collection of information relating to the fields of cross-cultural, cultural, and indigenous psychology contributed by scientists and scholars from around the world. Includes coverage on ethnocentrism; distortions of diagnostic judgment; psychology of Arabs, Russians, Filipinos, and other ethnicities; obedience; and more

The Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, Second Edition is a three-volume reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions. Presented alphabetically by title, 300 articles probe both enduring and exciting new topics in physiological psychology, perception, personality, abnormal and clinical psychology, cognition and learning, social psychology, developmental psychology, language, and applied contexts.

This work brings together informations from across the disciplines to look at what is known about the nature, cases, expression and societal role of human emotions throughout history and across cultures.

This encyclopedia presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational behaviour including: the development of individual employees; the factors of overall organizational structure; the use of psychology and the analysis of human behaviour which plays a significant roles in the contemporary workplace; workplaces increasingly impacted by government influences; growing consumer awareness; skill shortages; and the changing nature of the workforce.

This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology.

Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how wesee the science of psychology. The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice.

The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.

This volume represents the state of the art for the theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Its chapter topics includes, among others, autoethnography, critical race theory, applied ethnography, queer theory, and testimonio.

The latest findings on the mental, emotional, and physical life of the human infant, presented in nontechnical language and user-friendly A-Z format. Covering a broad range of topics, Infancy in America details the explosion of new theories and knowledge that has overturned many long-held notions. More than 500 entries, ranging from down-to-earth child-rearing advice to summaries of the latest research in medicine and developmental psychology Contributions by 31 experts from a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, education, psychology, and sociology.

The Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Teachers, school psychologists, those studying developmental and school psychology and the general reader will find nearly 300 alphabetically arranged essays examining how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more. This two-volume encyclopedia also offers statistical information in the form of charts and sidebars, synopses of recent research specific to essay topics, and images. Extensive cross-references, a glossary, and subject index are included.

A text for any researcher interested in the art, science and practice of qualitative research.