Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the catalog to search for books and e-books. Your catalog username is your student ID number and generally the last four digits of your phone number or 0000 (for example, 900123456 and 0000).
Library of Congress Classification
Information about the way the subjects and books in the library are arranged. Spanish language is found in the PC4001-4977 range and Spanish literature, in the PQ 6001-8929 range, but materials in Spanish will be found in other subject areas. Advanced Search of the catalog allows you to limit the search to Spanish.
Library of Congress Tutorial
Locates books and other materials in libraries worldwide, including the University of Dallas, through a collaborative catalog. Coverage is from 1200 to present. Connect to Tipasa and the UD catalog via remote access with a university network account.
Find E-Reference Books
e-Libro Premium includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain. e-Libro Premium also includes Open Access titles for seamless access to scholarly works. Books for the collection are selected for both research and instructional value from leading commercial, academic and university press publishers from Spain and all countries in Latin America. The full range of academic topics is covered in the collection, as well as more general reference works.
e-Book Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format (formerly NetLibrary). Establish an account within the database to save information for future use. (EBSCO - TexShare)
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
From the University of California, the UC Press E-Books Collection, formerly e-Scholarship Editions provides access an eBook collection of academic presses for 1982-2004. Public access is available to only 700 of the 2,000 titles. The collection includes the topics of Latin American History, Latin American Studies, and Latino Studies, reviewable through the browse function. (Univ. of CA - Free Web Access)
This collection of ebooks includes: Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.Taken from the renowned Cambridge Companions series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-pecialists for twenty six years. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music, ensuring a complete reference for all those working in the humanities. includes over 500 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein. Offering over 5000 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme. Updated continuously with new content on publication. (Cambridge-Direct)
Credo Reference is a full-text online reference service. The collection includes over three million entries from hundreds of well-regarded titles from some of world's the best reference publishers. Credo’s collection is intelligently integrated with millions of cross-references and contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy, science to Shakespeare and law to literature.
Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the present) (e-book) by
Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture (e-book) by
Publication Date: 2019
In 129 articles and three volumes, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mexican History and Culture provides a compendium of the best available scholarship on the nation's rich history and culture. An international group of leading authors, including well-known Mexican scholars, reveals new or little-known dimensions of this past or confirms with new sources previous interpretations of the Mexican experience. Themes include the expected topics of politics and economics, combined with powerful articles on biography, environment, gender, and culture, including music, art, and cinema
Find Print Reference Books
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, guides, atlases, etc. Although largely replaced by online sources, print sources offer information not always accessible electronically. They provide ready information, background treatment of complex subjects, and, with bibliographies, guides to other sources.
Print Reference Books (Located on first floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library)
Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula by
Call Number: Ref. PN849.S6 D54 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Defining literature in the broad sense, the Dictionary includes historical, religious, cultural and philosophical writings as well as prose, poetry, and drama from the Iberian Peninsula. Virtually all entries have been composed by noted scholars and are complemented wherever possible by bibliographies of primary texts and selected critical studies as well as existing English translations of primary texts. This two-volume work generally includes literature from the tenth century to the mid-1980s and--with a few exceptions--is limited to writers born in the Iberian Peninsula.
The Cervantes Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Ref. PQ 6337 .A2 2004
Publication Date: 2003
This reference is a comprehensive guide to Cervantes' stunning achievements. Included are hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries on his works, characters, and allusions, historical persons who figured prominently in his life and works, concepts and terms central to his literary career, and authors, artists, and musicians who were influenced by his writings. While many of the entries are succinct, others provide detailed plot summaries. Each entry closes with a brief bibliography. A chronology and a selected, general bibliography of major editions and critical studies are included.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by
Call Number: Ref. F1406 .C36 1985
Publication Date: 1985
From geology and biology to cinema and the theatre, this ambitious thematic encyclopedia, unique in scope and style, provides a much needed one-volume account of all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean. Written by some fifty recognised experts in clear and accessible language for the general reader and copiously illustrated with full colour photographs, it discusses general themes as well as the individual countries in their own right.
Merriam-Webster's Spanish-English Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref. PC 4640 .M47 2003
Publication Date: 2003
A bilingual, bi-directional guide to Spanish and American English with extensive coverage of Latin-American Spanish. More than 80,000 entries and 100,000 translations. Abundant examples of words used in context.
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref. PC 4640 .O94 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the result of over ten year's research, and covers over 24 varieties of Spanish as it is written and spoken throughout the Spanish speaking world. It is an ideal reference for University students, as well as translators and language professionals
Diccionario de la Lengua Espanola by
Call Number: Ref. PC4625 .A3 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Every definition contained on this two volume set has been seen & approved by the Real Academia Espanola. The collaboration of representatives of Latin American nations resulted in a dictionary containing many Americanisms now accepted in the Spanish language. This new edition has been updated & the text has been revised.