Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

PHI 2323-Philosophy of the Human Person-Nielsen

Guide for Dr. Nielsen's Phil 2323

Getting Started...

Subject Guides - Use the Philosophy Subject Guide as a "one-stop shopping" place to begin.

Subject Encyclopedias - Consulting a subject encyclopedia to gain context and background information about a philosopher or philosophical topic is a very helpful first step in research.  For philosophy, the following subject encyclopedias are available from Blakley Library:

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the gold standard for philosophy subject encyclopedias.  It is an open-access resource very highly regarded for its scholarly, authoritative content.  The entries are authored by leading scholars and include extensive bibliographies.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is comprehensive in coverage.  It includes articles authored by top scholars which feature excellent bibliographies. New and revised content is added frequently and the content is enriched by the many linked cross-references. 

Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a premier source and is available from Blakley Library in print (Ref B 51 .E53) or online.

Handbooks/Companions - For a deeper first look, consult a handbook or companion source, e.g. an Oxford Handbook or Cambridge Companion.

The Cambridge Companion Series is a collection in e-book format of over 500 Cambridge Companion volumes.  Included are Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture.  (Some of these volumes are also available in print format in Blakley Library.)

 

Useful Databases for Philosophy

Philosopher's Index is the premier source for finding articles on philosophers or philosophical topics.  The indexing is done by a professional editorial staff and is scholarly and consistent.  

PhilPapers is an open access index to articles and a repository of philosophical research.

International Philosophical Bibliography  is based on a print product and indexes content of philosophy journals from 1997 - current.  It is available in print (Ref Z 7127 .R42) as well as online.  Although it does not have the easy search interface and sophisticated functionality of Philosopher's Index, it is very helpful for searching non-English sources and accessing information on European-based materials.

Subject Guide

Lauren Younger's picture
Lauren Younger
Contact:
Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library
972.721.5315