Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Ready Reference

Ready reference sources provide quick and general information, and are consulted for factual, definitive answers. These include dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, handbooks, almanacs, biographies, as well as geographic information sources.

Almanacs

Books

Famous First Facts  Ref. AG 5 .K16
World Almanac and Book of Facts
  Ref. AY 67 .W9 2014
Texas almanac   Ref.  AY 311 .D14 2014-2015
Mental Measurements Yearbook  Ref. LB 1131 .B95

 Internet Resources

Infoplease Almanac - contains sections on countries, current events, travel, biography, business, the United States, sports, society and culture, history, government, arts and entertainment, health, and science.

Old Farmer’s Almanac  - Provides charts and guides, seasonal advice, monthly sky watches, and other information about any subject. 

GeoHive- Contains global geopolitical data, and demographic information of regions and countries, including statistics on wealth, infrastructure, natural resources, and more.

The World Factbook - Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Texas Almanac- Contains topics  such as Texas agriculture, business, counties, facts and profiles, the environment, government, history, population, pronunciation, religion, and science, among others.

Handbooks and Manuals

Books  

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association  Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2010
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing  Ref. PN 147 .G444 2008
Occupational outlook handbook   Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 O23 2013-14

 Specialized Databases

Handbook of Texas - A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association and the General Libraries at UT Austin

Internet Resources

Style Guides and Citation Manuals

Basics of APA Style: a tutorial from the American Psychological Association.

 Chicago Manual of Style:  a quick guide for the Chicago-style citation as prepared by the publishers

Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL):  provides an overview of APA and MLA citation and format style.

Medical Handbook/Manual

Merck Manual - An online version of The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook with photographs, audio and video materials

Occupational Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook – A source of career information, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations