Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Ready Reference

Ready reference sources provide quick and general information, and are consulted for factual, definitive answers. These include dictionaries, encyclopedia, directories, handbooks, almanacs, biographies, as well as geographic information sources.

Specialized Databases

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities: Business Provides information to help researchers and academics match their manuscripts with the scholarly journals which are most likely to publish those manuscripts. It has a listing of academic journals with the journals' acceptance rates, publication guidelines, number of copies required, types of review process, and others

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - A service that indexes and provides access to quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles in many subjects and languages.

Find Law - Contains both federal and state cases, codes, and directories, and other legal information

Hoover's (ABI/Proquest) - Features profiles of companies, industries, and key executives, including company overview and history, competitors, products and operations, and others

MLA Directory of Periodicals - Indexes critical literary and language scholarship internationally from case studies, dissertations, essays, journals, proceedings, and working papers

Net Advantage (S&P) - Provides descriptive data on domestic and Canadian publicly held companies  and  corporations. Includes financial data, industry outlooks, and directory information

ReferenceUSA - Provides directory access to businesses and residential information, including the local area

Books

Directory of American philosophers Ref. B 935 .D59 2012-2013
Higher education directory Ref.
L 901 .E334 2014
Martindale-Hubbell law directory  Ref. KF190 .M3 1989
Writers Directory  Ref. PS 1  .W73

Internet Resources

Peterson's Guide -  Provides information about colleges and universities,  graduate programs, continuing education, summer opportunities, study abroad, financial aid, test preparation, and career exploration

WashLaw Web Maintained by Washburn University School of Law Library, it provides users with links to law-related materials on the Internet and is a gateway to Federal Government internet resources and government related materials, arranged alphabetically by subject, and by geographic location.

Zip Code Lookup, United States Postal Service - Users can look up a ZIP Code by address, city, or company, or find a city by ZIP Code.