Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Medicine & Health Guide

Searching for Books

Books come in multiple formats, from the printed page to digital representations.

  • Selected Reference Books
  • Online or eBooks
  • Shelf browsing
  • Catalog Search
  • Google Books Search
  • WorldCat Search

If Blakley Library does not have a book that you need, you can use ILLiad, our inter-library loan system, to borrow the book from another library.  And if a book that you need is checked out, you can use the online catalog to place a hold on it so that you will be notified when it has been returned and is available for you.

 

Reference Books

General

Dictionary of the History of Medicine Ref R 121 .S398
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Ref R 121 .D711
Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide Ref RC 81 .H38
Health and Healthcare in the United States Ref RA 395 .A3.H43
Health Care Market Research and Strategic Planning Handbook Ref RA 410 .53.H44
Health Information: Management of a Strategic Resource Ref R 848 .H35
Merck Manual of Medical Information Ref RC 55 M5
Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary Ref R 121 .M89
Stedman's Concise Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions Ref R 121 .S8

Specialized
Encyclopedia of Bio-statistics Ref RA 409 .E53
Encyclopedia of Mental Health Ref RA 790 .5.E53
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders Ref RB 155 .5.G35
Hamlyn Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Ref R 733 .H36
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Ref RC 55 .M5
Physician's Desk Reference: PDR Ref RS 21 .P4
Portrait of Health in the United States Ref RA 410 .53.P67
Toxics A to Z; a Guide to Everyday Pollution Hazards Ref RA 1213 .T76

eBooks

eBooks are resources read online. Some sources allow you to download the item, such as Project Gutenberg, where others have an internal reader, such as EBSCOHost.

LC Classification Full List

Listed below is the Library of Congress Class outline for Medicine. Open the document below (.pdf) to see the details of each subclass.

  • R  - Medicine (General)
  • RA - Public aspects of medicine
  • RB - Pathology
  • RC - Internal medicine
  • RD - Surgery
  • RE - Ophthalmology
  • RF - Otorhinolaryngology
  • RG - Gynecology and obstetrics
  • RJ  - Pediatrics
  • RK - Dentistry
  • RM - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
  • RS - Pharmacy and materia medica
  • RT - Nursing
  • RV - Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine
  • RX - Homeopathy
  • RZ - Other systems of medicine