Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the catalog to search for books and e-books. Your catalog username is your student ID number and generally the last four digits of your phone number or 0000 (for example, 900123456 and 0000).
Library of Congress Classification
Information about the way the subjects and books in the library are arranged. Italian language is found in the PC1001-1977 range and Italian literature, in the PQ4001-5999 range, but materials in Italian will be found in other subject areas. Advanced Search of the catalog allows you to limit the search to Italian.
Library of Congress Tutorial
Locates books and other materials in libraries worldwide, including the University of Dallas, through a collaborative catalog. Coverage is from 1200 to present. Connect to Tipasa and the UD catalog via remote access with a university network account.
Find E-Reference Books
e-Book Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format (formerly NetLibrary). Establish an account within the database to save information for future use. (EBSCO - TexShare)
eBook Central (Proquest)
E-Book Central is a collection of thousands of electronic books provided through Proquest. UD primarily has access to two collections:
-eLibro Premium, includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain, on a variety of subjects.
-Science & Technology Ebook Collection, which offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math.
This collection of ebooks includes: Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.Taken from the renowned Cambridge Companions series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-pecialists for twenty six years. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music, ensuring a complete reference for all those working in the humanities. includes over 500 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein. Offering over 5000 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme. Updated continuously with new content on publication. (Cambridge-Direct)
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
From the University of California, the UC Press E-Books Collection, formerly e-Scholarship Editions provides access an eBook collection of academic presses for 1982-2004. Public access is available to only 700 of the 2,000 titles. The collection includes the topics of art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. (Univ. of CA - Free Web Access) Remote Access with University Network Account
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature (e-book) by
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2003
Embracing the whole of Italian literature, from the early thirteenth century to the present, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature takes a broad view of what constitutes literature, covering historical writing, travel writing, theatre, and philosophy as well as the novel, poetry, literary dialogues, and critical theory. Providing generous coverage of canonical figures - from Dante and Petrarch to Montale and Calvino - it also contains a wealth of short entries on significant minor figures. The Companion also explores Latin literature written by Italian authors - a major feature of Renaissance culture - and Italian dialect literature; and highlights articles which place the writers and their works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political context.
The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel (e-book) by
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2006
The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel provides a broad ranging introduction to the major trends in the development of the Italian novel from its early modern origin to the contemporary era. Contributions cover a wide range of topics including the theory of the novel in Italy, the historical novel, realism, modernism, postmodernism, neorealism, and film and the novel.
Find Print Reference Books
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, guides, atlases, etc. Although largely replaced by online sources, print sources offer information not always accessible electronically. They provide ready information, background treatment of complex subjects, and, with bibliographies, guides to other sources.
Print Reference Books (Located on first floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library)