German Library Research Guide: Find Books

Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945 covers a wide swath of literary analysis and achievement, from Old High German lays and ecclesiastical encomia to Middle High German epics, sagas, and love lyrics. The history of this period in German literature is told through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical musings, and drama.

Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German‐speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now comes right up to the mid–1990s . The entries cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds.

The Cambridge Companion to Goethe provides a challenging yet accessible survey of this versatile figure, not only one of the world's greatest writers but also a theatre director and art critic, a natural scientist and state administrator. The volume places Goethe in the context of the Germany and Europe of his lifetime. His literary work is covered in individual chapters on poetry, drama (with a separate chapter on Faust), prose fiction and autobiography.

The »Old High German Dictionary« is an indispensable resource for university students and scholars. Its 12,000 entries encompass the vocabulary culled from 84 major literary works, including newly added texts. The decisively new feature of this edition is the inclusion of the glosses.

Covering all the vocabulary of current issues, with evidence drawn from Collins' unique multi-million word databanks of contemporary German and English, the fourth edition also incorporates all of the changes from the recent German spelling reforms for up-to-the-minute accuracy. New to this edition are special entries on German life and culture which provide the user with detailed information about Germany and the German-speaking world -- politics, education, festivals and traditions -- where a simple translation is not enough.

This comprehensive dictionary is the German equivalent of the OED.

This reference work brings unprecedented depth and erudition to German literary studies in English. It combines longer articles on persons, works, movements, and periods with excellent basic bibliographies on almost every topic. The quality of the articles is uniformly high, and the bibliographies have obviously been the subject of special editorial attention. (J. H. Spohrer; University of California, Berkeley)

Bd. 1: Gedichte. Bd. 2: Dramen. Bd. 3: Prosaschriften. Bd. 4,1: Personen, Sachen, Begriffe A – K. Bd. 4,2: Personen, Sachen, Begriffe L- Z. Bd. 5: Chronologie, Bibliographie, Karten.

Bd. 1. Musik und Tanz in den Bühnenwerken. Bd. 2. Naturwissenschaften. Bd. 3. Kunst.