Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the catalog to search for books and e-books. Your catalog username is your student ID number and generally the last four digits of your phone number or 0000 (for example, 900123456 and 0000).
Library of Congress Classification
Information about the way the subjects and books in the library are arranged. French language is found in the PC2001-3761 range and French literature, in the PQ 1-3999 range, but materials in French will be found in other subject areas. Advanced Search of the catalog allows you to limit the search to French.
Library of Congress Tutorial
WorldCat lets you search thousands of library catalogs around the world with one search. If you need a book we don't have that you have found in WorldCat, you can request it through Tipasa-Interlibrary Loan.
Find E-Reference Books
e-Book Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of full text reference, scholarly, and popular books in online format (formerly NetLibrary). Establish an account within the database to save information for future use. (EBSCO - TexShare)
eBook Central (Proquest)
E-Book Central is a collection of thousands of electronic books provided through Proquest. UD primarily has access to two collections:
-eLibro Premium, includes over 70,000 titles from more than 500 publishers, 95% from Latin America and Spain, on a variety of subjects.
-Science & Technology Ebook Collection, which offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math.
This collection of ebooks includes: Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.Taken from the renowned Cambridge Companions series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts in the field and used by students, scholars and non-pecialists for twenty six years. Covers literature, philosophy, religion, classics, cultural studies, and music, ensuring a complete reference for all those working in the humanities. includes over 500 titles, from Austen to Yeats, Martin Luther to Feminist Theology, Locke to Wittgenstein. Offering over 5000 essays in total; all fully searchable by author, title, topic or theme. Updated continuously with new content on publication. (Cambridge-Direct)
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
From the University of California, the UC Press E-Books Collection, formerly e-Scholarship Editions provides access an eBook collection of academic presses for 1982-2004. Public access is available to only 700 of the 2,000 titles. The collection includes the topic of French studies, reviewable through the browse function. (Univ. of CA - Free Web Access)
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French (e-book) by
Call Number: Online/electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2005
This Companion is a new and completely reconceived work, rather than a revision of the 1959 Oxford Companion to French Literature. As the change in title implies, it presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French‐speaking countries around the world. Adventurous and wide‐ranging, The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French is an indispensable and hugely enjoyable reference work for all scholars, students and general readers.
Find Print Reference Books
Reference books are usually encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, guides, atlases, etc. Although largely replaced by online sources, print sources offer information not always accessible electronically. They provide ready information, background treatment of complex subjects, and, with bibliographies, guides to other sources.
Print Reference Books (Located on first floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library)
A critical bibliography of French literature by
Call Number: Ref. Z2171 .C11
Publication Date: 1947-
v.1. The Mediaeval period; ed. by U. T. Holmes.--v.2. The Sixteenth century; ed. by A. H. Schutz.--v.3. The Seventeenth century; ed. by N. Edelman.--v.4. The Eighteenth century; ed. by G. R. Havens, D. F. Bond.--v.4. Suppl. The Eighteenth century; ed. by R. A. Brooks.--v.6. The Twentieth century ; ed. by Douglas W. Alden and Richard A. Brooks.
French XX bibliography by
Call Number: Ref. Z 2173 .F872
Publication Date: 1969-
Critical and biographical references for the study of French literature since 1885.
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by
Call Number: Ref. PQ41 .N48 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Written by an international team of experts, the Companion's 3,000 entries capture ten centuries of work produced in France and, more recently, in other French-speaking countries around the world. The volume highlights not only poets, novelists, and dramatists, but also historians, scientists, statesmen, and philosophers--providing a sweeping tour of French culture. Finally, the contributors have approached the literature of France in the widest terms possible, challenging the traditional canon as they examine everything from strip cartoons and pamphlets.
Collins French Concise Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref. PC 2640 .H23 2010
Publication Date: 2010
This practical, versatile edition of the Collins French Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of today's language with more than 200,000 entries and translations. This is the most complete guide to grammar offered in a French dictionary, and includes all the information needed to write a paper, read a book, or tell a story.
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref. PC 2640 .O83 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This fully updated fourth edition has even better coverage of the language than ever before, with improved treatment of acronyms and EU terminology, as well as thousands of new words in both English and French. A must for anyone studying the French language, this dictionary has been tailored to the needs of students in consultation with key academic advisors.