Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Research Websites
Larousse Dictionnaire de français
This monolingual French dictionary provides parts of speech, definitions, expressions, synonyms, difficulties, pronunciations, and, often, examples of words from literature. There is also a conjugator of verbs.
This bilingual dictionary provides definitions to words and words with the same parentage, pronunciations,conjugations, and a forum where questions are answered concerning the usage and meaning of words or expressions.
Linguee looks up words and phrases in bilingual dictionaries and searches through online translation for natural context occurrences of the searched word or phrase.
Les expressions françaises décortiquées
This dictionary gives the origin, meaning, examples, and translation of common expressions in French.
Trésor de la Langue Française informatisé
The TLFi is a monolingual, historical dictionary of words from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. There are over 100,000 words with their histories, definitions and examples..
Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (1330-1500)
This is a monolingual French dictionary of Middle French.
This French encyclopedia provides articles about subjects, including links to other articles, and multimedia content.
Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers
The Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, par une Société de Gens de lettres was published under the direction of Diderot and d'Alembert, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. Containing 74,000 articles written by more than 130 contributors, the Encyclopédie was a massive reference work for the arts and sciences, as well as a machine de guerre which served to propagate the ideas of the French Enlightenment. The impact of the Encyclopédie was enormous. Through its attempt to classify learning and to open all domains of human activity to its readers, the Encyclopédie gave expression to many of the most important intellectual and social developments of its time.
The ARTFL Encyclopédie database contains 21.7 million words, 254,000 unique forms, 18,000 pages of text, 17 volumes of articles, and 11 volumes of plate legends.