Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Poetry

Resources for research in Poetry

eBooks

eBooks are resources read online. Some sources allow you to download the item, such as Project Gutenberg, where others have an internal reader, such as e-Book Collection.

Poetry Print Books

One source for books for poetry can be found in the Library Catalog. Using a general Subject search term of Poetry will display a list of more specific terms and number of items in the catalog. Simply click on the term to see the individual listings.

Electronic Books (eBooks) on poetry can be found by following the links below.

 

Selected Print Books (Reference)

Specialized
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works  Ref PN 1021 .G78 
Contemporary Poets  Ref PR 603 .C6
Guide to American Poetry Explication  Ref Z 1231 .P7 G85 
Last Lines; An Index to Last Lines of Poetry  Ref PN 1022 . K55 
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics  Ref PN 1021 .N39 
Poetry Handbook;  A Dictionary of Terms  Ref PN 1021 .D3 
Words to Rhyme With:  for Poets and Song Writers  Ref PE 1519 .E87  


General

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia  Ref PN 41 .B4 
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism    Ref PN 86 .C573
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms  Ref PN 41 .C67 
Contemporary Authors Autobiography Series  Ref Z 1224 .C762
Contemporary Authors; a Bio-Bibliographical Guide  Ref Z 1224 .C76
Contemporary Literary Criticism    Ref   PN 771.C59
Contemporary Novelists    Ref   PR 881.C69 
Critical Heritage Series (individual volumes of criticism of major writers)  various call numbers
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters  Ref PN 44 .M3 
Dictionary of Literary Biography  Ref PN 501 .D5
Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms  Ref PN 41 .D4794
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism  Ref PN 81 .C97 J67 
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800  Ref PN 86 .L56
Modern Black Writers  Ref PN 841 .M58
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism  Ref PN 761 .N56
Research Guide to Biography and Criticism  Ref Z 2011 .R47
Survey of Contemporary Literature  Ref PN 44 .M34
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism  Ref PN 771 .G27


American and British

Bibliography of British Literary Bibliographies  Ref Z 2011 .A1 H68
Modern American Literature  Ref PS 221 .M53
Modern American Women Writers  Ref PS 151 .M54
Oxford Companion to African American Literature  Ref PS 153 .N5 O96 or Electronic Book available in NetLibrary
Oxford Companion to American Literature  Ref PS 21 .H325
Oxford Companion to English Literature  Ref PR 19 .D73
Reference Guide to American Literature  Ref PS 21 .R43


International

African Writers  Ref PL 8010 .A453
Contemporary Foreign Language Writers  Ref PN 771 .C585
Dictionary of Mexican Literature  Ref PQ 7106 .D53
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century  Ref PN 771 .E5
European Writers  Ref PN 501 .E9
Guide to French Literature  Ref PQ 41 .L48
Handbook of Russian Literature  Ref PG 2940 .H29
Great Foreign Language Writers  Ref PN 524 .G74
Latin American Writers  Ref PQ 7081 .A1 L37
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French  Ref PQ 41 .N48
Oxford Companion to German Literature  Ref PT 41 .G3<
Oxford Companion to Irish Literature  Ref PR 8706 .O88
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature  Ref PQ 6006 .O93
Spanish American Authors; the Twentieth Century  Ref PQ 7081 .3 F57


Shakespeare

The Essential Shakespeare:  an Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies  Ref Z 8811 .C53
Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare  Ref PR 2892 .S63
Quotable Shakespeare:  A Topical Dictionary  Ref PR 2892 .D37
Reader's Encyclopedia of Shakespeare  Ref PR 2892 .C3
Shakespeare A to Z;  the Essential Reference&.  Ref PR 2892 .B69
Shakespeare Glossary  Ref PR 2892 .O6
Shakespeare Survey  Ref PR 2888 .C3

Catalog Search

Online catalog quick search:

Search for titles, authors, keywords
 

Search WorldCat

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Search Google Books

Google Book Search