Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Marketing

This guide is comprised of both library and Internet resources recommended for finding information about Marketing. All types of material, including articles from journals and chapters from books, can be found using this guide.

Marketing

Welcome to the Marketing subject guide. It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information. 

Let's get started!

  • Are you looking for Marketing BOOKS and want to browse the shelves? Circulating print books are located in the "H" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. Reference books are located on the first floor to the left of the circulation desk. Please refer to the Books page for a high-level breakdown of "H" subclasses.
  • The Books page refers you to selected marketing books, both online and print. These may be found online, in circulating books, or the reference section. Reference books must be used inside the library and cannot be checked out. Circulating books may be checked out for a three-week period. 
  • The Journals page refers you to selected journals, both online and print. Journal titles may be searched in the Online Catalog, Full-Text Journals, and in UD Discovery.
  • The Databases page identifies databases that the University of Dallas subscribes to. It is a great place to find articles relating to information technology, information management, its history, and its theory. Specialized databases have a high subject content while the related general database tab contains multiple disciplines in varying measures. Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless device. 
  • The Internet Resources page directs you to selected online economics sources including free access journals, selected websites, blogs, and other internet resources. All the sites listed have free web access.
  • The Citing Resources page lists various citation methods and provides a brief overview of copyright.

Data for market research is gathered through both primary and secondary research.

  • Primary data: is based on research that you conduct yourself using tools such as surveys, polls, focus groups, and interviews. Primary research is used to address a specific problem. While primary data can be more thorough and insightful, it is costly and time-consuming to collect such data and conducting such research requires special skills.
  • Secondary data: is based on research done by others, such as government agencies, market research firms, and trade associations. Examples of secondary sources include statistics and market research reports. These sources can save you a lot of time but as you have no control over how and what pieces of data were collected, they may not always be specific enough for your needs.

This guide focuses on secondary sources available at the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. It also identifies free websites with useful information.

The basic building blocks of marketing are the 4 Ps. Coined by E. Jerome McCarthy in 1960, these are the things that can be tailored to match values and interests of specific buyers. So these are factors that you may want to investigate to gain a competitive advantage. 

PRODUCT   Elements of the product range from its physical properties (e.g. durable, colorful, contemporary-looking) to a mental image (e.g. safe, trendy, ecologically responsible).

PRICE  This includes psychological "costs" such as inconvenience in addition to the actual purchase price.

PROMOTION   Most people think first of paid advertising but other forms of promotion such as coupons, free samples, or hiring actors to stir up some buzz before a product launch can also be effective ways to get the target customer's attention.

PLACE/DISTRIBUTION   This notion encompasses anything about where buyers get the product from point of access (big box stores, the Internet, catalog sales, etc.) to the level of training and expertise salespeople possess.

However, many believe that in our digital age, the 5th P of marketing is PARTICIPATION/PERSONALIZATION. Without personalization,  the “people” your company connects with may never buy from you. This can happen for many reasons related to product, price, place and promotion; however, that very same person or persons may end up being a conduit that leads them to recommend you to someone else who will buy.

 

Google Book Search
Google Patent Search
Google Scholar Search

Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.

Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030