Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

School of Ministry Library Research Session

Getting started...

New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed is a 15 volume work which  features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

Encyclopaedia Judaica - This second edition expands the scope and the relevance of the original work. It features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion & Culture  are a rich source for information on theological and philosophical topics.  Chapters can be downloaded individually and generally include bibliographies.  A bonus feature is that the Companions chapters citation information can be exported directly to RefWorks.

Search for books in the Blakley Library's online catalog and if needed, expand the search for relevant books by using WorldCat.  Use both specialized and general databases to identify journal articles of interest.  

Full Text

Past Masters Index includes access to full-text primary works, letters, journals and notebooks from major philosophers.  Collections included in Blakley Library's subscription:  Aquinas: Collected Works; Aristotle: Complete Works; St. Augustine - Complete Works; British Philosophy 1600-1900; Hume: Complete Works and Correspondence; Locke: Philosophical Works and Select Correspondence; the Continental Rationalists; Nietzsches Werke; Plato: Collected Dialogues; Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill; and Wittgenstein: Published Works.
 
The Loeb Classical Library Online, which provides the full-text of every book in the Loeb Classical Library, includes writings by Aristotle, Plato, Philo, Epictetus, Plotinus and other philosophers.
Corpus Thomisticum contains all of Aquinas's works available online in Latin, this illustrated source has parts translated into other languages, including English. Comprehensive in scope, it includes different versions, a bibliography which spans the 13th century to the present, and an index noting the editions of the works of St. Thomas. (Fundacion Tomas de Aquino) Free Web Access
Patrologia Latina - This replica of Replica of Jacques-Paul Ming volumes depicting late ancient & early medieval theology, philosophy, history & literature from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent II in 1216 from the publisher Chadwyck. Searchable in Greek keyword as well as Latin. (Proquest - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Library of Latin Texts, LLT (formerly known as CLCLT ro CETEDOC) consists of two parts, LLT-A and LLT-B. Both parts can be searched together by using the Cross Database Searchtool icon. Content includes texts from the beginning of Latin literature (250 B.C.) through the Second Vatican Council. It provides an extensive corpus of classical and medieval Latin literature, including the complete works of Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, and Thomas a Kempis, and the Latin Vulgate Bible. (Brepolis) Remote Access with University Network Account.

New Jerome Biblical Commentary

This commentary provides users with the historical, literary, religious and scientific content of the Scriptures and includes the variety of interpretation within the scholarly community.  It is located under Ref BS 491.2 N485 1990.

Specialized Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials is a comprehensive  database for religious research.  It indexes commentaries, criticisms, book reviews, and journal articles and includes the ATLAS collection of select full-text theology journals.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is produced by ATLA and the Catholic Library Association and includes citations for articles and books published in Roman Catholic journals, Papal documents, church promulgations and other sources about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and Biblical history.  It integrates various Oxford scholarly texts and reference works and includes texts from several Oxford Bibles which can be viewed in side-by-side display with the user's choice of commentary from the Study Bibles, the Oxford Bible Commenary and various concordances.  

Other Specialized and General Databases for Theological Research

New Testament Abstracts Online is a joint production from Boston College and ATLA and is an in-depth source of articles of New Testament scholarship.

Old Testament Abstracts Online, jointly produced by the Catholic Biblical Association and ATLA, is a scholarly source of articles and other information about the Old Testament.

Papal Encyclicals Online provides the full-text of Papal encyclicals and bulls going back to the 1200's.  It also includes a Papal directory and a directory of councils.

WorldCat

WorldCat is a compilation of the records of well over 70,000 libraries and is an excellent source to locate books on theological topics which are not owned by the University of Dallas and can be obtained through inter-library loan.

Anchor Bible Series

This flagship series of original translations and commentaries on each book of the Bible is a premier source for Biblical study.  Volumes include historical and critical analyses, information on various scholarly theories, and verse-by-verse commentary and exegesis.  Yale purchased the whole series from Doubleday in 2007 and now publishes the new titles and revisions of the older volumes.  In Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library, the series is available under REF BS 192.2 .A1G3.  Most of the volumes are also available in the circulating collection.