This is the "Home" page of the "Religion and Theology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion and Theology   Tags: bible, catholic, christianity, judaism, religion, theology  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2015 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/religiontheology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Blakley Library Theology Resources

Notre Dame Cathedral, Paris

 Blakley Library houses an extensive collection of over 70 theological journals.  Additionally, in-depth subject databases, covering research in both journals and monographs, include ATLA Religion Index, Catholic Periodicals and Literature Online, Religion & Philosophy (EBSCO), Corpus Thomisticum, Patrologia Latina and others.

Quick Links

 

New Online Access to the works of St Augustine

Blakley Library now provides access to the Works of St. Augustine through the Past Masters Index.  This 41 volume set covers the complete Confessions, The Trinity, his complete letters, sermons on the Old Testament, sermons on the New Testament, Sermons on the Liturgical seasons, Sermons on the Saints, Expositions on the Psalms, The City of God, and other works. 

 

Major Online Resources...

Oxford Biblical Studies Online...Blakley Library is excited to announce that we now have access to a major resource for Biblical study and scholarship, the Oxford Biblical Studies Online.  This resource is very rich in content and includes the full-text of six different Bibles as well as in-depth commentaries and concordances.  You can look up specific Bible verses and compare them with another text or commentary.  Use this link to view a short introduction to OBSO by Michael Coogan, the Editor in Chief.

New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed...This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

The Cambridge Companion Series contains the full-text of many Cambridge companions on religious topics and persons.

The eBook Religion Collection contains the full-text of over 4,100 scholarly books on a very broad range of religious topics, including ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and religious texts.

Additionally, the Loeb Classical Library Online, which provides the full-text of every book in the Loeb Classical Library, includes works of Church Fathers (Basil, Clement of Alexandria, Eusebius, Ignatius, Polycarp and others).

 

 

School of Ministry Journals

Click here for a list of journals subscribed to by Blakley Library for the School of Ministry.

 

Getting Started

Welcome to the Religion & Theology subject guide.  This guide will direct you to the various resources available for research in the areas of religion and theology.  Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information (see tabs above).  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources for religion and theology.

Getting Started...

Looking for articles?  Use the Specialized Databases tab to find relevant databases.  To find a specific journal, use the Full-Text Journals link.

Looking for books?  You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  The above tab Books provides a selected list of print reference books and information on e-books.  Circulating print books on religion and theology are located in the "B" section on the lower level of Blakley Library. Below is a more detailed breakdown of subject areas:

BL - Religions/Mythology/Rationalism
BM - Judaism
BP - Islam, Bahaism
BQ - Buddhism
BR - Christianity
BS - The Bible
BT - Doctrinal Theology
BV - Practical Theology
BX - Christian Denominations
BX800-4795 - Catholic Church
 

Recent Additions of Religion/Theology Books....

Click here for a list of recently-added religion/theology books.  NOTE:  For recently added books on the Bible and Biblical scholarship, check out the Biblical Study and Scholarship Resources subject guide.

The eBook Religion Collection contains the full-text of over 4,100 scholarly books on a very broad range of religious topics, including ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism and religious texts.

 

 

Catholic Reference Resources, updating McCabe

The last print edition of the indispensable Critical Guide to Catholic Reference Books (3rd ed.) by James McCabe was published in 1989.  This rich, scholarly resource is now kept up-to-date by the website Catholic Reference Resources, a joint project of the Roman Catholic Denominational Group of the American Theological Library Association and the academic section of the Catholic Library Association.  The site identifies reference works with significant  content related to Catholicism.

 

Religion/Theology Subject Guide

Need assistance in finding religion and theology resources?  Contact Susan Vaughan, the Blakley Library religion/theology subject specialist at svaughan@udallas.edu or 972-721-4130. 

Additionally, research assistance is available at the Blakley Library Help Desk, reflib@udallas.edu or 972-721-5315.

 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

University Network Account Contact Information


Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.

Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip