This is the "Home" page of the "PHI-5100 Philosophy Proseminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PHI-5100 Philosophy Proseminar  

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/phi5100session Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Paths to Find Books and to Find Articles

To find books:

Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library Online Catalog

WorldCat

bibliographies in books, articles, subject encyclopedia entries

To find articles:

specialized databases (e.g. Philosopher's Index, International Philosophical Bibliography, PhilPapers)

general scholarly databases (e.g. Academic Source Complete, Project Muse, JSTOR)

bibliographies in books, articles, subject encyclopedia entries

To find an article in a specific journal:

use Full-Text Finder

 

Full-Text Philosophical Works

Past Masters Index includes access to full-text primary works, letters, journals and notebooks from major philosophers.  Collections included in Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library's subscription:  Aquinas: Collected Works; Aristotle: Complete Works; St. Augustine - Complete Works; British Philosophy 1600-1900; Hume: Complete Works and Correspondence; Locke: Philosophical Works and Select Correspondence; the Continental Rationalists; Nietzsches Werke; Plato: Collected Dialogues; Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill; and Wittgenstein: Published Works.
 
The Loeb Classical Library Online, which provides the full-text of every book in the Loeb Classical Library, includes writings by Aristotle, Plato, Philo, Epictetus, Plotinus and other philosophers.
Corpus Thomisticum contains all of Aquinas's works available online in Latin, this illustrated source has parts translated into other languages, including English. Comprehensive in scope, it includes different versions, a bibliography which spans the 13th century to the present, and an index noting the editions of the works of St. Thomas. (Fundacion Tomas de Aquino) Free Web Access
Patrologia Latina - This replica of Replica of Jacques-Paul Ming volumes depicting late ancient & early medieval theology, philosophy, history & literature from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent II in 1216 from the publisher Chadwyck. Searchable in Greek keyword as well as Latin. (Proquest - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
Library of Latin Texts, LLT (formerly known as CLCLT ro CETEDOC) consists of two parts, LLT-A and LLT-B. Both parts can be searched together by using the Cross Database Searchtool icon. Content includes texts from the beginning of Latin literature (250 B.C.) through the Second Vatican Council. It provides an extensive corpus of classical and medieval Latin literature, including the complete works of Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, and Thomas a Kempis, and the Latin Vulgate Bible. (Brepolis) Remote Access with University Network Account.
University of Dallas Textual Analysis Tool (UDTAT) provides  interactive visual analyses of classic texts with with side-by-side commentary. Created by University of Dallas faculty members, it is still in the initial phase of development. At present the TAT contains one text, Aristotle's Categories, and is available exclusively to University of Dallas students, faculty, and staff.
 

Philosophical Research Guide

Cover Art
Philosophy; a Guide to the Research Literature - Hans E. Bynagle
Call Number: Ref B 72 .B97
ISBN: 1563089548
Publication Date: 2006

 

Where to Start...

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an open-access resource very highly regarded for its scholarly, authoritative content.  The entries are authored by leading scholars and include extensive bibliographies which identify books and articles.

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy strives to be comprehensive in coverage and includes articles authored by top scholars which feature excellent bibliographies.  New and revised content is added frequently and the content is enriched by the many linked cross-references. 

The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion & Culture  are a rich source for information on various philosophers and philosophical topics.  Chapters can be downloaded individually and generally include bibliographies.  A bonus feature is that the Companions chapters citation information can be exported directly to RefWorks.

 

Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index  - This index is a comprehensive bibliography of philosophical scholarly research.  The publisher is the Philosopher's Information Center, a non-profit educational organization and the Index is the most important contribution of the Center to the philosophical community.  The first issue of the index was published in 1967 and through retrospective indexing it has coverage of various topics back to 1940.   What makes it so useful:  (1) All subject areas of philosophy and of related disciplines are included; (2) Most citations include author-written abstracts; (3)  The subject headings assigned to the Index content are selected by a team of 12 philosophers who serve as assistant editors and they work without the aid of computer indexing.

International Philosophical Bibliography - Available in both print and online, this is a comprehensive index to philosophical literature, including books, journal articles and book reviews whiich are published in Dutch, English, French, German, italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Catalan.  It does include some citations that are not included in Philosopher's Index.

 

Other Specialized and General Databases for Philosophical Research

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials - The American Theological Library Association provides this comprehensive database for religious research.y journals. 

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is produced by ATLA and the Catholic Library Association.  It indexes citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic journals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online is a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history.  Texts from selected Oxford Bibles can be viewed in side-by-side display with the user's choice of commentary and many Bible reference sources are included.

Academic Source Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals.

Project Muse is an online collection of hundreds of full text journals from scholarly publishers. All participating journals are peer-reviewed, scholarly titles.  It continues some of the journals that are found in JSTOR.

JSTOR  provides access to archived scholarly journals.  Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and each year has a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Susan Vaughan
Contact Info
972 - 721-4130
Send Email
 

RefWorks

RefWorks collects, stores, and organizes citations and creates bibliographies.  Sign up for your free RefWorks account here and learn more about how to use RefWorks by using the RefWorks Citation Guide.

 

 

UD Discovery

UD Discovery enables a user to execute a combined search of many of the library's resources, including databases, full-text journals, and the online cataog.

 

And for a deeper understanding...

Cover Art
Dictionary of Untranslatables - Barbara Cassin (Editor); Emily Apter; Jacques Lezra; Michael Wood
Call Number: Ref B 51 .V6313
ISBN: 9780691138701
Publication Date: 2014-02-09
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities. Spanning the classical, medieval, early modern, modern, and contemporary periods, these are terms that influence thinking across the humanities. The entries, written by more than 150 distinguished scholars, describe the origins and meanings of each term, the history and context of its usage, its translations into other languages, and its use in notable texts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip