Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Music Guide

Learn how to look for music books in our collection, find music articles, access streaming audio databases, answer music copyright questions and more!!!

Music Subject Guide

Welcome to the Music subject guide for research, news, and information sources related to the study of music.

The tabs on the left link to tools for finding databases, journals, eBooks, and quality Web resources related to Music. Need something, but can't find it? Email or call me!

Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Music print Circulating books are located in the "M" section on the third floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. Reference books are located on the first floor to the left of the circulation desk.

Below is a more detailed breakdown of the Library of Congress Classification call numbers most commonly associated with music.

  • M 1-5000 - General
  • ML 1-3930 - Literature on music
  • MT 1-960 - Instruction and study

The Books tab lists selected books, both online or in print. These may be located in the Reference section, in the circulating print collection, or available electronically. Reference books use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed above and must be used within the Library.

Looking for articles? Journal articles can be found in print journals (located in Periodicals), online in databases and at the Journals home page. The Journals tab lists journal titles searchable in the Online Catalog, UD Discovery, or by using Full-Text Journal Finder. The Full-Text Journal search will point you to print, online and database resources.

The Databases page identifies databases that the University of Dallas subscribes to. It is a great place to find articles relating to business research, history, and theory. Specialized databases have a high subject content while the related general database tab contains multiple disciplines in varying measures. Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless device. 

The Internet Resources tab provides links to other helpful internet resources.

What's in the News identifies several podcasts and blogs in the field of music

Citing Sources contains information on various citation styles available and how to use them.

Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.
Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030

Loading ...