This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics   Tags: geometry, math, mathematics  

Print, Online, and Web resources for studies in mathematics.
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2014 URL: http://udallas.libguides.com/MathGuide Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links

 

New Titles

Cover Art
Robert Recorde - Smith Roberts; Gareth Roberts (Editor); Fenny Smith (Editor)
Call Number: QA 29.R43 R634 2012
ISBN: 9780708326824
Publication Date: 2014-02-15
Robert Recorde was the first person to write an original book on arithmetic in English, rather than in the then-standard Latin or Greek—and thus the first to write about math in a way that ordinary people could understand. He was, in effect, the first mathematics teacher in the English-speaking world. This biography, which provides a comprehensive overview of Recorde’s life and work, traces the major influences on his study and his writing and charts his contribution to the development of mathematical and scientific thinking in Europe.

Cover Art
The Elements of Cantor Sets - Robert W. Vallin
Call Number: QA 612 .V35 2013
ISBN: 9781118405710
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
A systematic and integrated approach to Cantor Sets and their applications to various branches of mathematics The Elements of Cantor Sets: With Applications features a thorough introduction to Cantor Sets and applies these sets as a bridge between real analysis, probability, topology, and algebra. The author fills a gap in the current literature by providing an introductory and integrated perspective, thereby preparing readers for further study and building a deeper understanding of analysis, topology, set theory, number theory, and algebra. The Elements of Cantor Sets provides coverage of: Basic definitions and background theorems as well as comprehensive mathematical details A biography of Georg Ferdinand Ludwig Philipp Cantor, one of the most significant mathematicians of the last century Chapter coverage of fractals and self-similar sets, sums of Cantor Sets, the role of Cantor Sets in creating pathological functions, p-adic numbers, and several generalizations of Cantor Sets A wide spectrum of topics from measure theory to the Monty Hall Problem.

Cover Art
Is God a Mathematician? - Mario Livio
Call Number: QA 8.4 .L586 2009
ISBN: 9780743294065
Publication Date: 2010-01-19
Bestselling author and astrophysicist Mario Livio examines the lives and theories of history's greatest mathematicians to ask how-if mathematics is an abstract construction of the human mind-it can so perfectly explain the physical world. Nobel Laureate Eugene Wigner once wondered about "the unreasonable effectiveness of mathematics" in the formulation of the laws of nature. Is God a Mathematician? investigates why mathematics is as powerful as it is. From ancient times to the present, scientists and philosophers have marveled at how such a seemingly abstract discipline could so perfectly explain the natural world. More than that-mathematics has often made predictions, for example, about subatomic particles or cosmic phenomena that were unknown at the time, but later were proven to be true.

Cover Art
Secret History - Craig P. Bauer
Call Number: QA 76.9 .A25 B384 2013
ISBN: 9781466561861
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
Most available cryptology books primarily focus on either mathematics or history. Breaking this mold, Secret History: The Story of Cryptology gives a thorough yet accessible treatment of both the mathematics and history of cryptology. Requiring minimal mathematical prerequisites, the book presents the mathematics in sufficient detail and weaves the history throughout the chapters. It covers Greek and Viking cryptography, the Vigenère cipher, the one-time pad, transposition ciphers, Jefferson's cipher wheel, the Playfair cipher, ADFGX, matrix encryption, World War II cipher systems (including a detailed examination of Enigma), and many other classical methods introduced before World War II. The second part of the book examines modern cryptology. With numerous real-world examples and extensive references, this book skillfully balances the historical aspects of cryptology with its mathematical details. It provides readers with a sound foundation in this dynamic field.

Cover Art
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers - Gary L. Musser; William F. Burger; Blake E. Peterson
Call Number: QA 39.3 .M87 2014
ISBN: 9781118457443
Publication Date: 2013-09-16
This book establishes a solid math foundation for future teachers. Thoroughly revised with a clean, engaging design, the new Tenth Edition of Musser, Peterson, and Burger's best-selling textbook focuses on one primary goal: helping students develop a deep understanding of mathematical concepts so they can teach with knowledge and confidence. The components in this complete learning program--from the textbook, to the e-Manipulative activities, to the Children's Videos, to the online problem-solving tools, resource-rich website and Enhanced WileyPLUS--work in harmony to help achieve this goal. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.

Cover Art
Teaching the Common Core Math Standards with Hands-On Activities, Grades 3-5 - Judith A. Muschla; Gary Robert Muschla; Erin Muschla-Berry
Call Number: QA 135.6 .M869 2014
ISBN: 9781118710333
Publication Date: 2014-03-10
Teaching the Common Core Math Standards with Hands-On Activities, Grades 3-5 is the only book currently available that provides activities directly correlated to the new core curriculum for math. This text assists teachers with instructing the material and allows students to practice the concepts through use of the grade-appropriate activities included. Students learn in different ways, and Teaching the Common Core Math Standards with Hands-On Activities, Grades 3-5 acknowledges that fact through the inclusion of suggestions for variations and extensions of each concept to be used for students with different abilities and learning styles.

 

Getting Started

Welcome to the Mathematics Subject Guide. 

Although not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books, reference sources, and online information.  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips. Click the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide.

Looking for Books? You can find books by using our Online Catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Print books are located in the "QA" section on the third floor of Blakley Library.  In the box below is a high level view of the classification system. Check out selected books (online or in print). These may be located in the Reference section (first floor to the left of circulation), or available electronically. Reference books use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed above and must be used within the Library.

Delve into our Databases for articles. Specialized databases have a high subject content while Related/general databases contain multiple disciplines in varying measures.

Explore Journals: Journal titles can be searched for in the Full-Text Journal Search or in the Online Catalog. This page contains links to our currently subscribed journals.

Surf on over to these Internet Resources for a change of pace.

 

Library of Congress "QA"

Subclass QA


QA  1-939     Mathematics
QA  1-43          General
QA  47-59         Tables
QA  71-90           Instruments and machines
QA  75-76.95           Calculating machines
QA  75.5-76.95         Electronic computers. Computer science
QA  76.75-76.765  Computer software
QA  101-(145)     Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic
QA  150-272.5     Algebra
QA  273-280       Probabilities. Mathematical statistics
QA  299.6-433     Analysis
QA  440-699       Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
QA  801-939       Analytic mechanics

 

CC License

Creative Commons License

This guide is created by Melissa Randall and licensed by University of Dallas Blakley Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included.  I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.

My Information

Profile Image
Melissa Randall
Contact Info
William A. Blakley Library
Braniff Bldg.
Office: 972 721-5397
Help Desk: 972 721-5315
Send Email
Where do you work in the library:
Cataloging & Reference
What are your favorite books or genre:
Science Fiction, Fiber Arts, Historical Fiction, Nature
 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip