Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

Finance and Accounting

Looking for resources on Finance and Accounting? Here you'll find print, online journals, databases and more.

Finance and Accounting

Welcome to the Finance and Accounting subject guide. Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information.  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips

Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Print books are located in the "H" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library with the "HF", "HG" and "HJ" subclass call numbers directing you those books typically associated with finance and accounting.

Below is a breakdown of the "H" subject areas, a more highly detailed listing of the HF, HG, and HJ subclasses is included in the Books tab.

  • H - general
  • HA - statistics
  • HB - economic theory, demography
  • HC - economic history and conditions
  • HD - industries
  • HE - transportation and communication
  • HF - commerce
  • HG - finance
  • HJ - public finance

The Books tab lists selected books, both online or in print. These may be located in the Reference section (first floor to the left of circulation), or available electronically. Reference books use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed above and must be used within the Library.

Looking for articles? Journal articles can be found in print journals (located in Periodicals), online in databases and at the Journals home page.

  • The Specialized Databases tab lists databases that have a high subject content.
  • The Related General Databases tab contains database in multiple disciplines in varying measures.
  • The Journals tab lists Journal titles searchable in the Online Catalog, UD Discovery, or by using Full-Text Journal Finder. The Full-Text Journal search will point you to print, online and database resources.

The Internet Resources tab provides links to other helpful internet resources.

Citing Sources contains information on various citation styles available and how to use them.

Many library databases and Web search engines support Boolean searches.  Boolean searching is based on combinations of keywords that are connected by operators.  There are three basic operators: ANDOR, and NOT. These operators are used to limit, widen or define the search strategy.

The Boolean operator AND retrieves every document that contains both of the words specified. Combining search terms with AND in a search narrows the search results, thus retrieving more specific results. To locate information on bell related to chime topics use the search terms:  

bell AND chime

Search processes retrieve every record containing both words belland chime.  More combinations may be added to narrow the search, such as bell AND chime AND tone.

The Boolean operator OR broadens a search to include documents which have either keyword.  OR is also used when there are common synonyms for a concept or variant spelling of a word.  To find information on heart attack use:

heart attack OR stroke

All documents containing either term heart attack or stroke, or both terms heart attack and stroke will be retrieved, which may result in a large numbers of documents.

The Boolean operator NOT narrows a search by excluding unwanted terms. NOT eliminates records or documents containing the second search term. To find information on life but not support use:

 life NOT support

The search results in documents with the keyword life and excludes the term support.

Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.

Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030

Loading