Personal online reference and bibliography center that collects, stores, and organizes citations.
- RefWorks Help
This guide has many tutorials and tips on how to use RefWorks.
- Chicago Manual of Style Help
This page from the Purdue Online Writing Lab gives you a lot of helpful information on how to properly create citations and papers using Chicago style.
- Chicago Style Citation Guide
This site has some helpful examples. Use Notes and Bibliography (sometimes called Humanities) version of Chicago Style.
Provides access to archived scholarly journals, JSTOR is commonly referred to as "Journal STORage." It contains disciplines that are divided into several modules. UD subscribes to only three of many modules: Arts and Humanities I, Arts and Humanities II, and Language and Literature. Journals may be browsed or searched, and the full text is for most titles begin with volume 1. Although some issues begin in the 1800s, all have an embargo, which may be as far back as 8 years. That is, none are published in the current years; and it is a “moving wall” so the last date changes each year. Some of the titles are continued to the present in Project Muse. (ITHAKA – Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account.
- Academic Source Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing with abstracts for more than 9,300 journals. It has 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The PDF content goes back to 1865. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Project Muse
Online collection of full text peer-reviewed journals from scholarly publishers. This collection complements JSTOR. (Muse) Remote Access with University Network Account.
- Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 U.S. and international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. (EBSCO - TexShare) Remote Access with University Network Account
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Some articles are full-text. (LexisNexis - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- New York Times
Use this link to access New York Times as a UD student-- you will need to set up an account.
ILLIAD can be used to request books and articles that are not owned by the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library.
WorldCat provides the holdings of over 72,000 libraries and can be used to identify sources of information not owned by Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library.
- Past Masters Index
Past Masters provides access to searchable full text databases of primary works, letters, journals, and notebooks from important philosophers and women writers. Combined with powerful web-based search and reference tools, the Past Masters series provides scholars with enhanced and flexible access to the classic texts. Collections purchased by UD include the Collected Works of Aquinas, The Complete Works of Aristotle, Works by Hume, Locke, and Wittgenstein, The Federalist Papers, The Collected Dialogues of Plato, and more.
- UD Discovery
UD Discovery is a meta-search of most items (not everything) that UD Libraries have, including books, articles, etc.
- Google Scholar
Scholarly articles and citations available on the web. Double check that these are scholarly articles. Google Scholar can show you where an article was cited which can help you find more information.