Skip to main content
      COWAN - BLAKLEY MEMORIAL LIBRARYUNIVERSITY OF DALLAS      

E-Commerce

This guide is comprised of both library and Internet resources recommended for finding information on e-Commerce.

General Information

Welcome to the E-Commerce subject guide.  Although it is not comprehensive, it will point you to the most useful databases, journals, books and reference sources, and online information.  It will assist you in both basic and advanced research.  Updating is done periodically so keep an eye out for information about new resources and search tips.

How to use this guide: You can click on the side tabs to quickly access resources or read more about each tab below.

Looking for Books? You can find books by using our online catalog or you may want to browse the shelf.  Print books are located in the "HF" section on the second floor of Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library. Below is a high-level view of the Library of Congress Call Numbers associated with commerce.; a more detailed Call Number list of subclass HF is included in the Books tab.

HF1-6182         Commerce
HF294-343        Boards of trade
HF1014             Balance of trade
HF1021-1027    Commercial/Economic geography.
HF1040-1054    Commodities. Commercial products
HF1701-2701    Tariff. Free trade. Protectionism
HF3000-4055    By region or country
HF5001-6182    Business

The BOOKS tab lists selected book, both online and in print. The print books may be located in the Reference section (first floor to the left of circulation) or in circulation. Reference books use the same Call Numbers as the circulating books listed above and but must be used within the Library.

Databases are a great resource for articles. The Specialized Database tab contains databases with a high subject content. The Related General Databases tab contains databases in multiple disciplines in varying measures.

Articles & Journals titles can be searched for in the Online Catalog or by using Full-Text Journal Search. 

Citing Resources properly is important and this tab provides style guides and other resources available to cite properly.

Many library databases and Web search engines support Boolean searches.  Boolean searching is based on combinations of keywords that are connected by operators.  There are three basic operators: ANDOR, and NOT. These operators are used to limit, widen or define the search strategy.

The Boolean operator AND retrieves every document that contains both of the words specified. Combining search terms with AND in a search narrows the search results, thus retrieving more specific results. To locate information on bell related to chime topics use the search terms:  

bell AND chime

Search processes retrieve every record containing both words belland chime.  More combinations may be added to narrow the search, such as bell AND chime AND tone.

The Boolean operator OR broadens a search to include documents which have either keyword.  OR is also used when there are common synonyms for a concept or variant spelling of a word.  To find information on heart attack use:

heart attack OR stroke

All documents containing either term heart attack or stroke, or both terms heart attack and stroke will be retrieved, which may result in a large numbers of documents.

The Boolean operator NOT narrows a search by excluding unwanted terms. NOT eliminates records or documents containing the second search term. To find information on life but not support use:

 life NOT support

The search results in documents with the keyword life and excludes the term support.

Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account for use in the computer centers, from a remote location, or from a wireless.

Questions regarding student accounts should be directed to the IT Department.
Location: Gorman G 
Email: support@udallas.edu
Telephone: 972-721-5030

Loading