Librarian
ATLA
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database is a comprehensive database for religious study and research. It includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays representing major religions, faiths, denominations, and languages.
Areas of coverage: Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; theology, philosophy, and ethics.
Dates of coverage: 1949 to present, although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century.
Quick Links
- Ask a Library Reference QuestionSearch our frequently asked questions!
- Full-Text Journal FinderIf you know a journal's title, search Full Text Journal Finder see if UD has full-text access. You can also browse journals by subject
- Tipasa Interlibrary LoanRequest books, articles, and chapters from other libraries. Get them sent to you for free. Your Tipasa login is your UD Network ID and password (for example, mhernandez and 900123456).
Searching ATLA using the Scriptures Tool
- Using the Scriptures ToolThis tutorial demonstrates how to search scripture citations in the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database using the Scriptures Tool.
Searching ATLA using the Citation Index
- Using the Citation IndexThis tutorial demonstrates how to search scripture citations in the ATLA Religion Database using the Scriptures Citation Index.
Searching ATLA using Subject Headings
- Using Subject HeadingsThis tutorial demonstrates how to search against subject headings for sacred texts of world religions in the ATLA Religion Database.