Find Articles
This page identifies the databases that the Cowan-Blakley Memorial Library subscribes to. It is a great place to find articles relating to marketing, market research, history, and theory. Specialized databases have a high subject content while the related general database tab contains multiple disciplines in varying measures. Subscribed databases, e-books, and e-journals require a University Network Account .
Marketing articles can be found in online journals, print journals, and in journals that are aggregated in databases. Some journals are available in multiple forms.
Online journal links will open to a website. Most will have the current issue predominately displayed and a search option for past issues. UD has access to online content for currently subscribed issues only.
Print journals are located in the Periodicals wing of the Library. Use the online catalog to find the call number.
UD subscribes to many journals through databases. Selected journals are listed here. Clicking these links will open up the database provider (such as EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.) and you will be able to search within the journal.
Many library databases and Web search engines support Boolean searches. Boolean searching is based on combinations of keywords that are connected by operators. There are three basic operators: AND, OR, and NOT. These operators are used to limit, widen or define the search strategy.
The Boolean operator AND retrieves every document that contains both of the words specified. Combining search terms with AND in a search narrows the search results, thus retrieving more specific results. To locate information on bell related to chime topics use the search terms:
bell AND chime
Search processes retrieve every record containing both words bell and chime. More combinations may be added to narrow the search, such as bell AND chime AND tone.
The Boolean operator OR broadens a search to include documents which have either keyword. OR is also used when there are common synonyms for a concept or variant spelling of a word. To find information on heart attack use:
heart attack OR stroke
All documents containing either term heart attack or stroke, or both terms heart attack and stroke will be retrieved, which may result in a large numbers of documents.
The Boolean operator NOT narrows a search by excluding unwanted terms. NOT eliminates records or documents containing the second search term. To find information on life but not support use:
life NOT support
The search results in documents with the keyword life and excludes the term support.
Best Bet General Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database is a best bet for many subjects, offering academic articles in subjects such as arts, humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis service provides full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly, peer reviews journals in many subjects and languages. It includes academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. (Lund Universities/TexShare) Free Web Access
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, the database contains the full-text of more than 2.1 million dissertations and theses from the US, UK, Continental Europe, and China. (Proquest - Direct)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a database with many full-text articles in a variety of subject areas taught at UD. It can be especially helpful for literature, philosophy, history, and religion but for other subject areas as well. However, all JSTOR articles are at least three years old, and often older, so it is not the best place to find the most current research.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles of periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. This database also contains full text chapters of reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags. It indexes general interest subjects in business, culture, history, literature, and music from books and journals. (EBSCO) Remote Campus Access with University Network Account.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Some articles are full-text. (LexisNexis - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowThe Small Business Reference Center contains more than 450 full-text reference books and nearly 400 full-text periodicals that provide detailed “how-to” instructions. It addresses small business topics, such as buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing a business plans, and understanding legal information. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account
Best Bet Specialized Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowBusiness Abstracts with Full Text contains 902 business magazines and scholarly journals. It includes product evaluations, interviews,
biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, and conferences. For a broader and more comprehensive approach try Business Source Complete. (EBSCO/Wilson) Remote Access with University Network Account - Business Market Research Collection with Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new windowBusiness Market Research Collection with Hoover's Company Profiles is now included in the ProQuest One Business database.
Find up to date content on both public and private companies with in depth industry analyses, company overview, summary financials, top officers, and competitors. (ProQuest - Direct) - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is a top database for finding research articles on many business topics including: accounting, finance, industries, international business, and management. It includes peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, company profiles, and more. Another useful database for finding business articles and information is is ABI Inform.
- Dateline (ABI/INFORM Complete) This link opens in a new windowDateline (ABI/INFORM Complete) is now included in the ProQuest One Business database.
ABI/INFORM Complete, Dateline contains local and regional business news from large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, and executive profiles with marketing, finance, analysis, and industry news. Its content is from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications. (Proquest - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account - Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowCovers the NYSE, AMEX, & NASDAQ exchange for public companies and EDGAR (SEC) filings. Contains history of companies, industry information, ratios, statistical data, mergers & subsidiaries. (Mergent - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowDelivers international daily business wires. Contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of the wire services, plus selected full text articles from 14 regional business publications. (EBSCO) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage This link opens in a new windowProvides descriptive data on approximately 6,500 domestic and Canadian publicly held companies & corporations. Includes financial data, industry outlooks, and directory information. (Standard & Poors - Direct) Remote Access with University Network Account
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal has been a trusted name since 1889 for unparalleled analysis and unique reporting informing decisions that drive the world forward.